How to cover chipboard with paper.

Okay, this one you will have to use your imagination a little bit.  I got so carried away with attaching the paper to the chipboard pieces I forgot to take photos of the process.

I’m using liquid glue to attach the papers.  The first thing to do is get the adhesive of  your choice on the chipboard first.  Use a tape runner, Scor-Tape, red liner tape, wet glue, Mod Podge, whatever you prefer.  Get the adhesive to all outer edges of the chipboard and in the middle section.

Attach the paper you have chosen.  You can cut the paper ahead of time if you know the dimensions.  I cut the papers at 3-1/2 inches by 8-1/2 inches to cover the off cuts from the chipboard I cut in the previous post.  For this process I prefer using liquid glue.  I have a small window of time to move the paper around to fit properly by using the glue.  I don’t have much success with the dry adhesives.  I have ruined too much paper and chipboard when the danged dry adhesive sticks to the chipboard in the wrong place :/

Adhere the paper to the chipboard

Adhere the paper to the chipboard

BEFORE you mount the paper on the back side of the chipboard piece make sure to punch the holes for the notebook binding.  Want to have a swear session?  Just cover the both sides of the chipboard and hunt around for the holes :/  Trust me….I’ve done this a time or two and I speak from experience.

Punch any holes before you do the back

Punch any holes before you do the back

Now you can safely cover the back of the chipboard.  The holes will be easy to punch because you have taken the time to do it on the front side.

 

Cover the back side and punch any holes

Cover the back side and punch any holes

The problem with using a liquid glue in this application is the water content that soaks into the chipboard and causes the pieces to warp.  Don’t worry.  I have my “highly technical” press ready.  Using wax paper, place a sheet on a flat surface.  In this case it is my cleared off kitchen table.  Lay the glued pieces atop the wax paper and put another layer of wax paper on top of this.  Continue with your wax paper and glued chipboard sandwich.  When all pieces are ready for the press put something flat over the top of the “sandwich” and then add some weight.

 

Warping chipboard

Warping chipboard

Sandwich chipboard pieces to dry between wax paper

Sandwich chipboard pieces to dry between wax paper

Place something flat over the sandwich

Place something flat over the sandwich

Place something heavy to act as a press

Place something heavy to act as a press

For the larger pages with the tabbed dividers I had to go through my stash of 12 x 12 papers to.  I didn’t have the foresight to purchase extra paper when I went shopping.  So I will have to find paper from my stash that will compliment the colors of the new stuff.

Creative Imaginations

Creative Imaginations

Creative Imaginations

Creative Imaginations

Imaginisce

Imaginisce

Club Scrap

Club Scrap

Use the adhesive of your choice to the chipboard and lay it out on the paper you will cover the glued side with.  Once the paper is fully adhered use a craft knife to cut around the chipboard piece.  Remember to punch your holes before covering the other side.

Attaching the paper and cutting around the chipboard

Attaching the paper and cutting around the chipboard

This new thing I am attempting to do….Put Things Away….is getting easier to do.  I still have to talk to myself and make sure that I do it :/  The bag which held my purchases is coming in handy for this project.  All the papers are together.

Clean up as I go

Clean up as I go

I like coming into my “Studio” now.  Space for mojo to happen 😀

 

Orderly work table

Orderly work table

I hope this has been of help to anyone that is thinking about covering chipboard with paper.  Now I have to put these pages under my press and wait until tomorrow to begin the hard part.  Designing the layouts.

Leslie

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 12:01:21

    I like the orderly work table at the end! It’s my favorite! Now, I’m off to sort through and put away the Archivers Haul. The lady was SOOOOO excited about me saving so much money, but I looked at her and said, but that means I SPENT so much money! Oh well, I picked up some higher priced things that I’d been wanting, like different colors of UTEE and a roll of Eclips Masking tape. Once I get everything put away, I promised to get back to filming and posting projects! It may be awhile, as I think I’m gonna move my space around a bit, but I’ll get there, even if it’s the Flylady way of working a few minutes at a time!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 22, 2014 @ 19:39:52

      I like the orderly work table at the end TOO! 😀

      I’m totally happy that you got such a deal at the Archivers store. I will await notification of our video up showing your haul. Yes, please do use the Flylady way of sorting your craft space. Don’t go and knock yourself out in one day! I have an excuse. There is no one here to make me stop :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 17:50:52

    Like you I use wet glue when adhering anything to chipboard/greyboard because I need that bit of wiggle room – me and straight are anomalies!! Just can’t do straight at all 🙂 I shouted aloud What!!” at the computer when you said ” I didn’t have the foresight to purchase extra paper when I went shopping.” Blimey this gal has enough paper to sink a battleship or two and she is saying she didn’t have the foresight to buy any more 😀 As you have more than adequately proved you found some to match 🙂 Good for you – Use it Up!
    I have my boxes and boxes of card stock I use as weights and out it comes flat as a pancake. I bet your granddaughter is going to be thrilled to have a hand made birthday present from her grandma 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 22, 2014 @ 19:43:43

      I knew you and I were nearly sisters 😀 I can’t get anything straight – even with the aid of a ruler!

      Yes, indeed. This girls has enough paper to sink a battleship. But it has come in right handy with this mini album I’m making. I had a great big chuckle at your “highly technical” press. Boxes and boxes of card stock as the weight. Hey, as long as it is heavy and flat it will work!

      I hope my granddaughter likes this present. I get so worried. Carissa called me yesterday to let me know her cans arrived and she was thrilled with them. She said they are beautiful. Made my heart sing 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a comment