Cinch. Uhm…read the directions :/

Have you been thinking about purchasing a We R Memory Keeper’s Cinch binding system?  Do you already have one and don’t use it?

I bought mine in November, right after I retired from being an over the road truck driver.  I figured if I was going to spend $140 then my butt was going to be home instead of all across the US.

I don’t, as a rule, read the instruction manuals that come with equipment.  Why?  I think there is  more testosterone in me than estrogen :/  Some things I live dangerously and throw caution to the wind.  Besides….I know what I’m doing and there ain’t gonna be anyone tell me different!

That is just before I go SPLAT!

I’m making a type of field journal for my son who is a Mechanical Engineer.  It is for his birthday present.  February is the month of his birth.  I made Joe’s book and didn’t have any problem, so why would I worry now about making my son’s?!

Mainly because it has been more than five minutes since I made Joe’s book.  If you follow this blog you will have been told, on more than one occasion, my memory is not the best.  The expiration time seems to be five minutes AFTER I do something or assimilate any kind of knowledge.

Keep in mind, the following photos are AFTER I botched the first attempt at punching the binding holes.  I cut off the mess and put some of my metal tape along the edge of the front and back cover for this journal I am trying to make.  So….I go and botch up this one also.  HOWEVER, I do have a reason to show you this.

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!  They are right on the danged machine.  They tried to idiot proof this tool.  Well…..Uhm…..maybe the next time they decide to come out with some special tool they had better come to my house to make sure they have INDEED idiot proofed the device.

Directions in plain view on the  machine

Directions in plain view on the machine

This is the result when the directions are not read and the advice heeded.

Oh, brother!

Oh, brother!

I have a ton of photos of what NOT TO DO.  I think I will spare you that bit of craziness.

Now, listen up here.  Link this post somewhere that you will remember it when you use your brand new Cinch.  Print this post out so you have it handy when the time comes.  Write a note to yourself about this being the place to come when you need instruction for using the Cinch.

Okay, never mind.  I forget where I save blog links in my handy dandy “Favorite” feature in my browser.  I print out useful information and it gets buried and lost in a pile of other papers that I’ve printed off….never to be found again.  Written notes suffer the same fate.  They get buried in other papers.

Are you ready?  Well, if  you are not, too bad because I’m moving right along with or without you.  Now you can feel like one of my kids :/

GET A SCRAP OF PAPER OR CHIPBOARD.  Do that first.  Preferably one that is the size of the piece you will be binding.

Get a scrap to play with

Get a scrap to play with

The contents of my journal are going to be 1/4 inch shorter at the top and bottom than the covers are.  This is an important thing for you to know and consider.  How much of an overhang do you want on your journal?  NONE?  Well then you can leave and go find some other blog to read.  Or go make your bed, do your dishes, or get dressed to go shopping.

The machine is automatically set at a “Zero”.  This is the place you would start with if you DO NOT want an overhang.  This is also the setting you would use for the inside pages of your journal.

Machine set at "Zero"

Machine set at “Zero”

To get the 1/4 inch overhang on the top and bottom of your covers do the following.  Slide the ruler thingy to the left and line up the 1/4 mark.

Move guide to the left 1/4 inch

Move guide to the left 1/4 inch

Place your scrap piece up against the guide stop and push under the machine’s head.

Put scrap against the stop

Put scrap against the stop

Check to make sure your scrap is fully engaged under the head on the right side.

Make sure scrap is fully placed under the head on the right side

Make sure scrap is fully placed under the head on the right side

Lean over to the left and make sure the scrap is fully engaged under the head.

Make sure the left edge is in place

Make sure the left edge is in place

Now pull down on the handle and punch your holes.  When the holes are punched raise the handle to disengage the steel punches.

Lower the handle to punch holes

Lower the handle to punch holes

Next you will have a fight with this guide.  You will need to show it who is boss!  Press on the dang thing until it falls over.  There will be a loud SNAP sound.  You will be absolutely certain you have broken the thing.  The next thing you will be doing is calling me names.  Some quite salty ones at that.

Press hard on the stop to make it fall over

Press hard on the stop to make it fall over

I’m a big girl…I can handle your frustrated utterances.  You will see that all is right with your world.  The guide has, indeed, fallen over.  Just like I told you it would.  Once you show it who is boss.

Guide laid over

Guide laid over

Now pull on the guide and extend the measuring device to its fullest.

Fully extend the guide

Fully extend the guide

Locate the NEXT TO THE LAST hole you just punched in your scrap piece.

Locate the next to the last hole you punched

Locate the next to the last hole you punched

There is a little locking device that is built into the machine.  It is a “Thumb Latch”.  Line the thumb latch up with the next to the last hole you punched.

Thumb notch

Thumb latch

Using your thumb, or finger, press the thing down until it locks into the hole.  Make sure you hear a click.  Oh, and don’t worry about  my fingernail.  It has broken and I have used a home remedy of glue and tissue paper to keep it from tearing further.

 

Press the latch until you hear a click

Press the latch until you hear a click

Before you get all antsy and begin pressing the handle, take a look at where the top edge of the scrap paper is.  I need a 1/4 inch gap at the top of this cover.  Not going to be good if I put a hole there instead.  In your case the punch might end up making a crescent shaped notch in  your piece.  Pull on the peg at the number that is at the place you don’t want punched.

Where will the hole be?

Where will the hole be?

Grab  hold of the little peg and pull it outward.  I will be pulling on PEG #5.

Pull outward on the desired peg

Pull outward on the desired peg

The peg will now stick out further than the rest of its brothers.

Peg will stick out further

Peg will stick out further

When you are ready, pull the handle down.  You will notice that the peg you pulled out will remain near the top.   All of its little brothers will be down near the bottom.

The pulled peg remains at the top

The pulled peg remains at the top

To remove your test scrap lift up on the thumb latch to release your strip.

Lift up on the thumb latch

Lift up on the thumb latch

Check your work to make sure you have the 1/4 inch top and bottom gap and your holes line up with the journal contents.  Do a little bit of a dance and shout if it all worked out well.

Check your work

Check your work

Oh, and DON’T FORGET to push in the peg  you pulled out.  Your happy dance will be over!  Right fast!.

 

Make sure to push the peg back in to place

Make sure to push the peg back in to place

One final note.  On your successful scrap guide, write down all the pertinent information.  Preferably with a Sharpie or black marker.  At the top, write the length of the scrap used.  This will help you later when you want to do this again.  For me, it is a foolproof…notice I didn’t say “Idiot Proof”……way for me to remember what I need to do.

 

Note the length of the scrap

Note the length of the scrap

In the body of the scrap note any guide adjustments made and which pin to pull.

Note guide adjustments and pulled pin

Note guide adjustments and pulled pin

 

Now that you have seen the glorious working of the We R Memory Keeper’s CINCH and are ready to give this a try…..

Go “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 06:51:49

    isn’t the cinch a wonderful toy,,,i love mine hugs tina

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 08:12:12

      The Cinch….once I followed the directions then I became a huge fan of the thing. The wires are the next thing I have to figure out :/ Man, those are a doozey! I ruin more of the wires than I actually use!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 16:13:25

    Leslie, you have a tool for just about anything, don’t you? I’m reading and trying to figure out how this thing works and for the life of me I’m still a bit confused. Nonetheless, I think it has to do with trying to figure out a use for it than anything else!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 16:36:46

      Jack, I have a ton of tools 😀 To ease your confusion on this matter of the Cinch. You, more than likely, have a spiral bound notebook or book in your home or office. The Cinch punches the holes to accept the wire for the binding. A marvelous piece of equipment…..if a Space Cadet doesn’t put their hands on it :/ Getting the holes punched properly and lined up with the contents of the book or journal is what that post was all about. I can do some majorly epic fails!

      Thanks for your comment, Jack.

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 17:59:36

    I have to admit that I liked the look of the Cinch and much prefer the round holes rather than the Bind It Alls square cut ones however in all the reviews I read about the Cinch they said that it was almost impossible to get the wires closed in a perfect ‘o’ shape, they tended to be more oval. So I put a BIA on my wish list and have had it for a year and not yet used because I don’t have any wires for it!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 Once I have enough pennies to spend the wires will be top of the list.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 18:21:24

      The Cinch wire binding is not the best. I had to get out my trusty Bind It All to close the wires properly. Check in your area for the wires for the Cinch. They are cheaper, don’t come with as much as the BIA in the packages, and they fit the BIA holes perfectly. The BIA wires are made from a thicker wire than the Cinch, maybe that is why the cost is so much more. Hope you find some wires so you can use your fancy new machine.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Feb 03, 2014 @ 17:50:05

        Oh many thanks for that tip about the wires Leslie. I will check the prices for the Cinch’s wires 🙂
        Hugs
        xxxx

      • Message In A Fold
        Feb 03, 2014 @ 22:28:56

        I do hope you can find the Cinch wires out there…across the pond…over the river…..and through the woods. You might check eBay in the UK to see what kind of prices are being asked while you are at it. Hope you find some 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  4. Elizabeth K
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 14:22:14

    I have been thinking about getting one of these… but the cost of it just seems a bit to much for me right now. Also I am I am in love with the look of hand binding journals.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 17:02:12

      I have the Bind It All but the gap is not thick enough for the cardboard and chipboard I make books out of. That is why I purchased the Cinch. Save your pennies and make sure you bring a 40 % coupon along with you, or wait until you get a 50% off one item coupon for Michaels.

      Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

