Craft Life Hack – DIY Magnetic Platform

Getting into card making, scrapbook layouts, or the Project Life series of documenting our daily lives can be over the top expensive.  Especially if you spend any amount of time watching craft videos on YouTube where every new tool or convenience is displayed for you to drool over and covet.

Die cutting is one such tool.  The machines themselves are over $100 and they come with the bare necessities.  Extra items are all add-ons and can destroy your budget quickly.  With the advent of wafer thin dies that serve dual duty, cut and emboss, the industry has been finding more ways to deplete your budget with these tools that we “Just Have to HAVE”.

Sizzix created a “Magnetic Platform” just for the wafer thin dies.  This acrylic pad with a magnetic top has allowed the paper crafter to do more with their dies.  That Magnetic Platform will set you back $30 or more.  The good thing about this tool is that you no longer have to fuss around with dies shifting on you through the cutting process.  You no longer have to tape everything down to get a good and clean cut without wasting a lot of paper while keeping track of where the die is before it goes under the pressure rollers.

I have not gotten into the wafer thin die aspect of paper crafting.  Mostly because of the initial cost of the die set.  These dies come in sets, or “Nested” sets.  Each die is graduated in height and width from smallest to largest and ideal for layering on your card fronts or your scrapbook layouts.  One set of dies will cost over $25 and it would be really easy to get to the check out with a total of over $100 just for three or four of these sets.  Add on the cost of the magnetic platform and your crafting budget will be gone in seconds.

Storing these wafer thin dies can be a challenge in itself.  Keep the packaging they came in or find an alternate storage solution.  One of my friends, Maureen Criss Mathis, told me about her purchase of Magnetic Vent Covers from her local hardware store to use for her die storage.  This was a few years back.

While in my local Lowe’s Home Improvement Center I went to the heating aisle and right to the section that sells the vent covers.

Vent covers at my hardware store

Vent covers at my hardware store

Magnetic Vent Covers are sold in this section.  When you want to block air flow over one or more registers in your home it can be accomplished with these covers.  The cost is $4.97 at my store for a set of 3.

Magnetic vent covers

Magnetic vent covers

These magnetic sheets cut easily with a pair of scissors.  So I had to see if I could make my own “Magnetic Platform” using this product on my three Sizzix machines.  The Big Shot, Original Sizzix Machine, and the Side Kick.

Sizzix Big Shot, Original Die Cutting machine, and the Side Kick

Sizzix Big Shot, Original Die Cutting machine, and the Side Kick

I was able to use the magnetic sheets on all three of my machines successfully.  The cuts I got using this home heating product were clean without any mistakes.

So, if you have been thinking about getting the Magnetic Platform from Sizzix for your wafer thin dies then head on over to  your local hardware store.  Spend your craft budget money on the acquisition of more wafer thin dies 😀

Here is my demonstration video for this new tool in my paper craft arsenal.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 21:05:53

    wow thanks you are awesome for sharing this . big hugs to Maureen too. i always think i should buy one of those but now i don’t have too. i have lots of dies to use it with. hugs to you Leslie.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2015 @ 09:34:17

      Pearl, I am really happy that I have shown you a more inexpensive way to use your wafer thin dies. Woo Hoo!! I need to bust out my Spellbinder dies and get to using them 😀 Hugs my friend.

      Reply

  2. Regina
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 23:51:49

    I do have the magnetic plate and love it. You can put the die right on top of a stamped picture and cut the stamped image out perfectly. If there was some way you could turn the die over without cutting the magnetic sheet it would be perfect.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2015 @ 09:37:28

      Thank you, Regina, for reading my blog post and leaving a comment. I appreciate you. There is always one more hurdle to get over with these new fangled dies. Just when I think I have it figured out some company comes up with a product that is amazing for double duty….then it is trying to figure out how best to use the newest thing. Hey, keeps us from being out on the streets causing mayhem 😀 LOL
      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Jack Flacco
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 18:29:08

    I still can’t believe how many vent covers are out there. I remember browsing through Home Depot to replace all our registers in the house and I was torn by all the wonderful designs and colors. The biggest decision was going with white or brass. Nonetheless, Lowe’s if a fun place as well. I can’t believe I haven’t been there for a few years. Thanks for the reminder to visit when I get a chance this holiday season, Leslie!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2015 @ 09:40:34

      Jack, when I first saw the register section at my local Lowe’s I was astounded by the sheer size of some of the vents! With these newer homes that feature “Open Concept” the air flow has to be just as big. I’m with you on the mind boggling display of offerings available. Have fun on your next visit to a big box hardware store 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

  4. Pam Nish
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 23:30:51

    I’m new to die cutting. Loved watching you. Why do you use rubber mat after first cut. Thanks

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 10, 2015 @ 06:54:42

      Thank you, Pam Nish, for leaving a comment on the die cutting video I made before Thanksgiving. The reason for the silicone mat is to put pressure within the die. The acrylic pieces cut mainly the tops of the dies where the silicone mat goes into the die spaces to create the raised effect of the die. I have tried using the silicone mat along with the acrylic plates with the wafer thin dies…all I succeeded in doing was tearing the paper into shreds. The silicone mat spreads out as the pressure is applied and causes lots of mayhem. So, long way to answer your question but I hope it helped.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

