Scrap Rehab – “Just Wanted To Say HI”

Today’s offering is from Operation Write Home Card Sketch #4.  When you look at the sketch you will see that I have used a larger than 1-1/4 x 2 piece indicated on the sketch, and I have centered and tilted the piece instead of going exactly by the sketch.

Just Wanted To Say HI

Just Wanted To Say HI

These are the scraps I am using, with one exception – the vellum.  I’ve had this thick vellum piece from Club Scrap for quite a long while.  Time to get it off the shelf and attached to something. The ribbon used on these cards is partial rolls.  I have discarded the “wheel” and wound the ribbon on clothes line pegs so I don’t know the name of the product.

 

Scrap pieces for today's card

Scrap pieces for today’s card

Once again, I have chosen four (4) green card bases, four (4) 4-1/4 x 5-1/2 yellow scraps.  I think this is a Stampin’ Up! Summer Sun paper.  Four (4) 2 x 4 pieces of Whisper White from Stampin’ Up!, and four (4) odd ball pieces of white card stock with colored flecks embedded in the paper.  These last will be used on the inside of the card.

All of the yellow pieces were cut to 4 x 5-1/4.

Yellow card stock cut to 4 x 5-1/4

Yellow card stock cut to 4 x 5-1/4

The vellum pieces were cut to 3-3/4 x 5-1/4.

Vellum cut to 3-3/4 x 5-1/4

Vellum cut to 3-3/4 x 5-1/4

The Whisper White card stock from Stampin’ Up! were 2×4 scraps.  These will have an image stamped on them.

2x4 Whisper White card stock

2×4 Whisper White card stock

The stamp I have used is from Studio G.  A clear stamp that is shaped like a tag.

A Studio G stamp

A Studio G stamp

Vellum can be a tricky product to use.  Even this one that is quite thick.  The transparent nature of the paper makes for difficulty in hiding the adhesives.  I’ve hidden the attaching adhesive behind the ribbon at the top leaving the bottom of the vellum loose.  Once the vellum is raised you can see the foam squares I used to attach the tag.

 

Adhesive products show through vellum

Adhesive products show through vellum

This is the off cuts left over from making these four (4) cards from the scraps I used.  Pretty awesome, if I do say so myself 😀

 

Pile of off cuts to be tossed

Pile of off cuts to be tossed

How are you coming in your “Rehab” 😀  Have you decided to give this a try?

Leslie

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 13:23:52

    Rather like that vellum and I bet you could make something similar with a sheet of vellum and some square ink pads. Just tap the squares to the vellum!!
    More scraps used up and a few offcuts to throw in the recycling bag – great stuff 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 23:03:26

      What a fantastic idea, Lynn! Stamping on vellum with square ink pads to get the same effect. I didn’t think of that 😀

      This is getting easier to do, and the rewards of having just little strips of scraps instead of sheets of paper on my table is totally cool.

      Checked in on your newest post and I love the post card you made 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 21:42:24

    These turned out great !!
    I have a lot of bright cardstock from my early days of 8.5×11 scrapbooking.
    With this type of front, the bases would be great for the card bases 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment