Scrap Rehab – “Donut be sad”

This set of four (4) cards has been made using another Operation Write Home Card Sketch #3.

I am working at getting comfortable making greeting cards.  I love making books and journals.  I can slap those out with confidence.  Card making on the other hand is a skill I am working to develop.  So I am “going to school” with all these cards I’m making.  Learning how to use the Copic Markers and doing rubber stamping without smearing or making ghost images :/  I’m really good at both of those, sadly.  Okay, enough of that.  Let’s get on with the presentation 😀

Scrap Rehab - "Donut Be Sad

Scrap Rehab – “Donut Be Sad”

The Harlequin embossing on the background piece is a Stampin’ Up! Textures Plate.  I have no idea if it is still available for sale.  The stamped image in the center circle is from a very old Stampin’ Up! set titled “Comfort Food”.  The rubber is purple instead of the common red of their wood mount stamps.  That is what makes me think this is a very old set.  I’ve used the stamp which says “Donut be sad”.

 

IBM Typewriter

IBM Typewriter

I had to uncover my old typewriter.  I don’t have a stamp with the phrase “Miss You”.  Not a single one.

Typed words - Miss You

Typed words – Miss You

This is the little “Donut” image.  I used a couple of Copic markers.  E33 for the cake part of the donut.  RV13 and RV21 were used for the “frosting”.  I used a silver gel pen to color in the tear drop.

Stamped image

Stamped image

I used a white “Gelly Pen” to follow some of the lines of the harlequin pattern and make some faux stitching around the other two circles on this front.  The cards have a white insert with no sentiment.  Maybe someone would be more free to write how they miss the person this card would be for.

The color selection for this set of four cards was accomplished using the Color Wheel….not my most favorite thing to use but I’m getting a bit more familiar with it.  Here is a video I made featuring these papers.

The four cards complete

The four cards complete

 

Are you getting just a little excited about “shopping” through your scrap stash 😀  I’m off to begin Card Sketch #4 next.

Join me in rehab.  Scrap Rehab that is 😀

Leslie

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 14:05:42

    Wow! They look great, and they look so easy to do! I think I love the color of them the most, but I suppose that’s a personal preference, I’m sure!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 16, 2013 @ 20:05:04

      Well, thank you very much {huge grin}. That as a kind thing to say, and I appreciate it. I’m happy to hear that you like the colors. I was surprised they work well together 😀

      Thank you once again.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 14:28:44

    Cute cards Leslie and like the white gel pen work, sets it off nicely. Oh don’t fret about making a mistake with stamping – even experienced stampers make mistakes. This afternoon I was making a postcard for a swap and needed to stamp three birds with masking for the centre bird and ended up with halos as I hadn’t cut the mask inside the line so turned the card over and started again!! There were a few swear words though 😮
    Yesterday I made a birthday card for my sister and an ink pad fell pad side down on the almost completed card 😦 Lots of swear words as there was no way of hiding a black splodge!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 16, 2013 @ 20:07:47

      I’m sorry to be laughing at your expense :/ You had me giggling with the birds and it went down hill from there. Swear words. I bet there were one or two used. Thank you for the encouragement and telling on yourself to let me know that there is no such thing as “Perfection” in crafting.

      I love you my friend, very much.
      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 21:12:22

    This is such a sweet card 😉
    Your colouring is great and love the special touches you did to your card 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 23:01:22

      Thank you, Tracy. I appreciate your very kind comment. You have that tote bursting with Copic markers and have made me think I might just “get over myself” and give it a try. So thank you for your encouragement 😀

      Love to you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

