OBC – Trouble With Intricate Dies

ONE BOOB CHRONICLE – Trouble With Intricate Dies

Recently, I received a package in the mail from Katinah Walker.  In the massive box of wonderful things was a Sizzix die set.

Sizzix die set

Sizzix die set

I have used two of the dies for the “Wands” I am creating.  One is a scalloped circle and the other is a very intricate “doily” die.

Scallop circle die and intricate doily die

Scallop circle die and intricate doily die

I didn’t have much trouble with the scallop circle die.  I cut some DCWV paper to 4 inch squares and ran the die and paper through my Sizzix Big Shot.  It didn’t take long for me to make 26 of these.  The doily die….that is another story that I have video of my many trials in getting the right set up to work well.

For the doily pieces I cut two sheets of Colorbok white textured card stock into three inch square pieces.

Let’s just say that I nearly gave up after struggling to make five of the doily pieces.

Die cut scallop circles and doilies

Die cut scallop circles and doilies

During the time I have been absent, I have watched a lot of YouTube videos on die cutting intricate dies.  Some people use dryer sheets during the cutting to make the dies release, some people use waxed paper.  I’ve also seen videos that strongly urge the viewer to not use either method.

Since I did not own any intricate dies….before Ms. Katinah Walker blessed me with this set….I just only half paid attention to the video instructions.

I don’t own dryer sheets so I attempted to use a paper towel.  FAIL

I changed the position of the die on the cutting plates.  Face up and face down.  FAIL

The die did cut the doily, to be sure.  Releasing the die cut from the die is another story all together.  Then spending a lot of time poking out the holes with a piercing tool was not my idea of an enjoyable process.

Then I read the instructions on the Sizzix packet.

The instructions suggest using waxed paper on the intricate die and run it through the machine three times.

BAM!  Only a little bit of poking with the piercing tool to get the holes open.  That worked so well, I was able to complete all the doily pieces in a couple hours.

The intricate doily die

The intricate doily die

The conclusion of the die cutting day resulted in a three hour nap.  Good grief!

What are your stories or advice in using intricate dies?  I would really like to know so tell me in the comment section below.  I will be having a video up HOPEFULLY by Friday.

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 08:31:23

    Hi, Leslie! If you have a Sizzix Precision Base Plate, give it a try. It’s designed for intricate dies like your lovely doily. Take care & have a crafty day! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Leslie Speers
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 09:25:15

    Hi Leslie…. I’ve always used the wax paper method, but I’ve got a little brush thing with a pokie tool on it to use as well. Have fund with those!

    Reply

  3. Norene Schlader
    Jul 05, 2017 @ 10:53:27

    Hi Leslie!
    I did see where someone used a plastic shopping bag between the die and the paper. I tried it and it worked for me. The only drawback was the little pieces of plastic bag and how staticky they get. I think I will try what you did. Happy Wednesday!
    Renie

    Reply

  4. pearl
    Jul 06, 2017 @ 06:26:19

    pretty dies Leslie. yes i too have the precision plate for the big shot. works with 1 pass through every time. i have that brush on my wish list also for getting out the little bits left behind. i have a lot of intricate dies so use it a lot.hugs xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 06, 2017 @ 07:24:02

      That is good to know, Pearl. So far the consensus is a Precision Plate is a must have when cutting intricate dies. Thank you for sharing your experience and advice on this matter.
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

  5. Gayle Enouen
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 20:11:24

    There is also a new plate for the big shot called a precision plate that you use with intricate dies. It has a very slight bit of cushion on one side. I have it and use it but I have to say I still prefer wax paper myself. My particular big shot seems to be on the “tight” side and precision plate really warps my cutting plates.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

