OBC – May 12, 2017

Welcome to the second edition of One Boob Chronicle.

====================================================

WARNING:  This post, and the accompanying photographs, may be unsuitable for some readers. 

====================================================

Today, Friday – May 12, 2017 – was my LAST RADIATION TREATMENT.  I am so thankful this part is over.  I’m so thankful I have survived it this long.

My team at Stephenson Cancer  Center in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma has been SUPERB.  I could not have asked for a better, nor more attentive, group of technicians, nurses, and doctors during this long period of time for treatment of my breast cancer.

My chest is R-A-W!  However, all of the medical staff assure me my skin “looks great”.  If you believe that, well I have a bit of ocean front property in Oklahoma City I would like to sell you.

My burned and raw chest

My burned and raw chest

I had burn cream – Silver Sulfadiazine – smeared all over the red areas.  Thursday after my treatment my chest hurt SO BAD.  My shirt just touching the skin was enough to make me wish I were DEAD!  It was so painful.  Joe tenderly and carefully slathered the entire area with about 50 pounds of the stuff.  Well, not really.  I don’t even have that much on hand!  What you see in the photo above is about two hours after he put the cream on.

My doctor told me today that I have new skin forming within the worst of the burn areas.  She said for me to look for the little “dots”.  Our bodies are AMAZING WORKS!

New skin forming

New skin forming

I had been freaking out about some long, wormy, type stuff on my skin that looks like mucus, or pus.  This stuff doesn’t have an odor.  An infection would have an unpleasant odor.  This stuff is just snotty and gooey.

I have been reassured by the nurses and doctors that this is a normal part of the healing process.  My vessels under the skin have been damaged from the radiation.  They are emitting a fluid as they try to reconstruct themselves and repair the damage.  This fluid mingles with the burn cream and any moisturizing lotion I put on the area to keep it moist.

As the body fluids and the cream dry up little “wormy” things are created.  As they dry out (in the photo above) they turn a green color.  Until they dry, it is an opaque white.

Body fluids and creams create wormy things.

Body fluids and creams create wormy things.

These wormy things are like snot.  Sorry for the gross description.  It doesn’t move like a cream would.  It just stretches and thins out the further it gets pulled.

Ewwwww!  Gross!

Ewwwww! Gross!

According to my doctor, this is totally normal and nothing to worry about.  It is my body doing what it does best.  Fight to keep going under even the worst of circumstances.

I was given a warning today.  In the next couple of weeks…..things are going to get !WORSE! before it begins to get better.  The radiation in my body is going to be working its way out of my system.  Which means I will be extremely uncomfortable. There will come a turning point when all the pain goes away and my awesome body will have won the battle.

GULP!

Here’s hoping for the best, as I prepare for the worst.

Leslie

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cherylogilvy
    May 12, 2017 @ 22:26:00

    Ouch that looks like it hurts. Glad the treatments are over for you. Don

    Reply

    • cherylogilvy
      May 12, 2017 @ 22:30:30

      Worry about the worms. They are just blocked pores coming out. We all have those. Being on long term immunity lowering medication. I have skin issues all the time. Aloe Vera Gel is great for your burns. Cheryl

      Reply

      • Message In A Fold
        May 22, 2017 @ 10:12:48

        Thank you, Cheryl. I purchased a bottle of Aloe Vera Gel from my local pharmacy. That stuff set me on FIRE! I couldn’t get in the shower fast enough to get it washed off. The “Lidocane” pain reliever in the gel is what my body strongly reacted to. Good grief! I have heeded your warning and made sure to keep on top of the “worm” growth.
        Love you my friend – Leslie

    • Message In A Fold
      May 22, 2017 @ 10:10:45

      Thank you, Don! Yes, it does hurt….but it is getting better.
      I appreciate you very much.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Toni
    May 12, 2017 @ 23:23:03

    Leslie, I wish I could be there with and for you. I wish I could do something to take away your pain.
    That burn looks so extremely painful. I’m sorry that you are having to go through this, but you have angels watching over you. You are an extremely strong woman and I don’t doubt that you will come through this even stronger. I’m sorry that Joe is also having to go through this as well.
    As always, you are both in my prayers, and I know He has His loving arms around you both.
    Love you both my dear friends.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 22, 2017 @ 10:14:02

      Toni, I have one special Angel watching over me….that is YOU and I appreciate you so very much. The healing process is underway. Being patient through this is not one of my favorite things to do.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Michelle Noble (Miss looney)
    May 13, 2017 @ 01:13:17

    I quite often check your blog to see how your doing. That looks really painful. I never knew how radiation affects a person. Once again, thanks for sharing. You know what Leslie, it’s nearly over. Your nearly at the end of your journey and you and your family can live your lives free of pain and chaos. You can get back in your craft room and make more videos 🙂 Stay strong lovely lady, hugs and love to you and Joe.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 22, 2017 @ 10:15:08

      Thank you, Michelle, for your loving and kind words of encouragement. I appreciate you so very much my dear and sweet friend. Indeed, the burns are getting better each day.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Jeanne Casella
    May 15, 2017 @ 11:16:03

    You are an amazingly strong woman. Here’s praying that the weeks to come go quickly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

