This is what happens when my creative space looks like

A bomb went off.

All the cupboards and drawers vomited everything out.

I’m in hiding in case there is a film crew heading for my front door to do a “Hoarders, Buried Alive” series featuring me.

My craft room has become a "Crap" room!

My craft room has become a “Crap” room!

I can't even get in my craft room.  The floor is piled up.

I can’t even get in my craft room. The floor is piled up.

Forget about trying to use my desk.

Forget about trying to use my desk.

When my creative space is like this, what do I feel?

  • Guilt
  • Disgust
  • Disrespecting the gorgeous hand crafted gifts mailed in packages of LOVE from you all.
  • Procrastination, big time.
  • Frustration.

I have been working on this room for five days now.  I pulled everything out and proceeded to dump it on our kitchen table, in the living room, and on kitchen counters.

The Chemo treatments that I had gone through – the last one was January 23, 2017 – still linger in my body.  Plus I am taking a drug to block my Estrogen Sex Hormone which I will be taking for the next five to 10 years.  This drug makes me dizzy, stagger around like I’m drunk, lose my train of thought, and my energy levels are way down low.  I’m talking near the floor down low.  Like about ankle  height, low.

I am so blessed to have Joe as my husband.  He is so understanding and helpful.  We can’t use the kitchen table for our meals.  He is okay with having our meals in the living room….in our recliners.  Those are the two surfaces I have not piled high.

I need my recliner to nap in during the day to recuperate from the work I have been doing.

I have finally found the “Kathy Orta style Envelope Mini Album” project I started and had not finished.  So I can get to work on it……as soon as I get my crap room cleaned up and organized.

Here is a sneak peek.

I can get in my craft room!

I can get in my craft room!

So, in case you have been wondering where I have been for the past week.  Wondering if I am still alive.  Yes, I am.  And I’m kicking butt.  Although I can kick the butt of an ant or a beetle.  I’m still kicking.  🙂

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl
    Mar 25, 2017 @ 20:57:01

    oh dear sweety i do wish i could come and help. you have made the right start anyhow. just go slow and do a bit each day and you will get back there. maybe Joe could make a cupboard in another room where you could put the things you don’t need every time you craft. there you are Joe something more to add to your list. lol. take care Leslie and be well. REST. love and hugs.xxxxxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 07:57:33

      Oh Pearl! Your idea of coming to help me sort my mess out. What fun we would have together. We could get distracted by the job at hand with some paper or ribbon that spark inspiration. What the heck, there is always tomorrow! Right?! LOL Love you my dear friend.

      Reply

  2. cherylogilvy
    Mar 27, 2017 @ 03:26:03

    God bless your recliner. I hope you find room for everything. QLD is having a cyclone at the moment. Nowhere near us. But bad for freinds of ours. Ok you can walk into your room now. So that will be a huge releif for you. Bigs Hugs across the miles. 😉

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 08:00:49

      YIKES! I know what your friends are going through, and it can be devastating. Your cyclone season is just before winter? Ours is about to start. April and May are the worst months for cyclones/tornadoes and we happen to live in “Tornado Alley”. I pray that your friends remain safe and far from harm.
      Love you my friend.

      Reply

  3. Kristina "CraftyPaws"
    Mar 27, 2017 @ 05:58:48

    Omgee your first pictures had me really worried, but it was so relieving and uplifting to see your last one and read that you’re kicking butt. Sending prayers and blessings your way. Fantastic work!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 08:02:27

      Thank you, Kristina. Yes…OMGEE is the right thing to say while your hair stands on end seeing the mess. Holy Moley! Thank you for stopping by to read my blog and leave your wonderful blessing upon me.
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Jeanne Casella
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 08:05:49

    Oh, Leslie! God bless you. You made me laugh! It has taken me over 12 years to clean my crafting space, and I’m not fighting a battle, other than with laziness and procrastination. Just yesterday I noticed that there’s a floor under all the junque (’cause I don’t want to think that all of that junk could really be tossed out). I thank you for taking time out of your day to spend with us and to keep our lives in perspective. Now, get back to straightening up!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 09:40:21

      Jeanne, you have blessed my day by starting out with a good laugh. I totally relate to finding the floor under all the mess. LOL When I got to the point of putting things away….and finding that I don’t have enough storage space to hold all the stuff…..I made a decision to just start purging. By the time I’m finished I will be ready to “gift” my stuff to someone else. That is if I don’t chicken out. 🙂
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

  5. Sylvia
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 18:45:11

    Leslie, all good things take time! My craft room has been taken over by my daughter and even though she has finished using it she hasn’t cleaned it up. So I have been using my son’s old room and it is piled upppp lol. I’m water colouring in the lounge while watching DVD’s so collecting paintings around me, having also been through chemo I know how tired you can be so I sympathise. I figure craft rooms are ‘rooms in progress’ as they are always changing depending on what craft you are doing at the time. At least you have a good chair to rest in! Best wishes to you both from New Zealand.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 21:15:47

      Oh, Sylvia….thank you for your wonderful comment. My house is a total wreck right now. My craft room had an avalanche out into various rooms. Well, not really. Man! I can’t believe the amount of stuff that I have accumulated over the years. And do you know what? I keep bringing stuff IN! Lord have Mercy!

      You have quite a vast interest in the creativity arena. Have you checked out “The Frugal Crafter”? She paints. Watercolors, oils, charcoals, watercolor pencils, and all kinds of things. She also does cards, knitting, Halloween costumes, you name it and she does it. If you need the link to her YouTube channel give me a holler. I’d be more than glad to send you there for more inspiration.

      I know you are fairly close to Australia. Are you getting hit by the cyclonic weather as well? If you are, keep safe.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

