DIY Embellishments from paper scraps and stickers

Handmade embellishments

Handmade embellishments

This week I have been working on getting “coordinated” embellishments made for the Envelope Mini Album I have been working on.

I can’t seem to muster the strength to get a video made for joining the three signatures of the Envelope Mini with spine pieces.  Not just that, I can’t seem to muster the strength for much of anything.

Anyway – on to the reason for this post.  Enough crying about my life right now.

I bought some baby stickers from Tuesday Morning, Michaels, and Hobby Lobby long before Christmas.  I want to take the plain stickers and give them a “home” to live.  A showcase for the art work.

Chipboard stickers from Tuesday Morning

Chipboard stickers from Tuesday Morning

Mix of Chipboard and flat stickers from Michaels

Mix of Chipboard and flat stickers from Michaels

Chipboard and card stock stickers from Michaels

Chipboard and card stock stickers from Michaels

I have scraps!  Ranging in size from 1-1/2 inch by 7 inches, 1/4 inch by 7 inches, and 1-1/2 inch by 3 inches.

Scrap pieces from the Envelope Mini

Scrap pieces from the Envelope Mini

1-1/2 inch by 7 inches

1-1/2 inch by 7 inches

1/4 inch by 7 inches

1/4 inch by 7 inches

1-1/2 inches by 3 inches

1-1/2 inches by 3 inches

I’ve made rosettes from the 1-1/2 inches by 7 inch strips.  Using the “B*@&(}d” hot glue gun and clear liquid glue, lace trim was added to the back side of the rosette and a chipboard sticker piece to the front.  One of the 1-1/2 inch by 3 inch pieces was included to create one of those fish tail thing-a-ma-bobs.

Rosette with lace trim

Rosette with lace trim

Rosette with lace trim and a fish tail

Rosette with lace trim and a fish tail

Various punches have been used on the scrap pieces as I have attempted to layer multiple items together for visual interest.

Tag punch and a Martha Stewart border punch

Tag punch and a Martha Stewart border punch

1 inch circle punch, 1-1/2 inch oval punch

1 inch circle punch, 1-1/2 inch oval punch

1-1/2 inch Scallop punch

1-1/2 inch Scallop punch

Some of the larger stickers are featured on their own.

Black card stock scrap

Black card stock scrap

Black card stock, Martha Stewart punch, 1/4 inch colored scrap

Black card stock, Martha Stewart punch, 1/4 inch colored scrap

1-1/2 by 7 inch scrap for fish tail, 1-1/4 by 5-1/2 inch card stock scrap

1-1/2 inch by 7 inch scrap for fish tail, 1-1/4 inch by 5-1/2 inch card stock scrap

I have a whole slew of photos of my precious granddaughter.  One of them is of her homecoming and being greeted by Daisy the Dachshund along with Bogie the Boxer.  I have a chipboard paw print from my stash of many many years.  Stick it atop a rosette, add a fish tail to the back and I have a special embellishments just for the “Welcoming Committee” 😀

Embellishment for the "Welcoming Committee"

Embellishment for the “Welcoming Committee”

This embellishment creating is something I can do.  Work on these things for an hour or two until my fingers feel like the tips are going to explode and my feet are filled with firework sparklers.  Spend some time in my recliner to get the pressure off for a while then go back at creating a few hours later.

Normally, I would have that 9 inch by 13 inch cake pan full of stuff in one day and ready to go on with something else the next.  Hey, at least I am getting something done!  That makes me happy.

Now, if I could go through the Facebook posts, messages, and notifications without falling asleep within 30 minutes…that would make me less guilty of abandoning my friends and family.

Give this sticker embellishment thing a try.  See what you can come up with using scraps and things from your stash.  I bet you can make some truly amazing things that will look like you bought them from the store.  *fist pump*

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne Grimbly
    Jan 19, 2017 @ 13:41:40

    Leslie I am so happy to hear from you. I am happy for you that you are managing to spend a little time creating. Small steps are agreat way to start. Just try not to move so fast that before you know it, you are running with scissors! LOL! Leslie I really wish that you wouldn’t feel it necessary to respond to everyone individually! I am certain that all of us would agree that if you have 50 messages to read, to simply come on once and say you’ve read the messages and appreciate them….good enough! No need to answer each one. Right now you need to be in the business of getting yourself well and not pleasing others. LOL! Seriously, please take care of yourself, let us know every once in a while how you’re feeling and what you’ve been up to and make some time to do what makes you happy! Your embellishments are gorgeous and will make your mini album beautiful! Great way to use those scraps! Take care my friend!

    Reply

    • Jesska
      Jan 19, 2017 @ 16:24:10

      Amen. She’s right you know… I love reading that you’re ok, I don’t feel left out or ignored or forgotten if I don’t get a personal answer.
      And as far as your productivity goes, you’re doing better than I am and I hardly have an excuse! 🙂
      Keep looking after yourself Leslie and keep on using that stash of scraps – it’s always good to see what you come up with! 🙂
      And sleep is a good thing – don’t fight it!

      Reply

  2. Toni
    Jan 19, 2017 @ 17:14:49

    Right now you are doing more than me. Since my surgery, most everything I try to eat or drink, comes back up. Some days I have no problem, but 2 out of 3, I seem to. Glad to hear from you again.

    Reply

  3. pearl
    Jan 19, 2017 @ 19:54:21

    my sweetest friend. i cry with you. Marianne and Jesska said how i feel too. nothing more to add except that you are in my thoughts every day and I’m sending lots of love and hugs to you and your family. xxxxxxxx your bionic friend. xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

