I gained 18 pounds

OF WATER in the hospital and have an unquenchable thirst!  How can that be?

At the hospital I was able to have ice chips to suck on when this terrible thirst would occur. 

Sometimes my stomach/chest would be so full of fluids I could hardly breathe. My belly so distended I could not get out of bed. 

They diluted my Potassium levels enough I had to have the “horse pill” size supplement….two of them at a time just before my discharge. 

I got home yesterday afternoon about 2 pm and was on the hunt for something to sip on.  Gatorade, while cold, was wonderful the first three giant sips. Sugar content in the Gatorade quickly gave me cotton mouth which worsened the thirst. If that was even possible!

Once again, Joe became “My Hero”!  He was long gone from home when I arrived. On his way to Nashville, Tennessee. Our wonderful neighbor, Hugh, picked me up at the hospital. Prearranged by Joe. 

So how would Joe be of help and not even here?  The better question is….how did he know 12 years ago the Christmas present he bought would be just what I need right now?!

He bought a Cuisinart “Smart Stand” small kitchen appliance. Comes with a mini food processor and an immersion blender. 


Fill the bowl with ice cubes…..


Pulse the stick thing until…..


You have perfection!


Just enough large chips to chew on, mostly really great slush!


Anything sweet leaves me with cotton mouth.  Dasani Drops are out for now. 


So no Snow Cones ๐Ÿ˜– for now. My feet and legs are so swollen right now. Excuse the bad pedicure….actually no pedicure. 


So…..what am I GRATEFUL FOR?

  1. I am home from the hospital!
  2. No day and night blood pressure and temperature checks. 
  3. Praise God, no more IV Fluids. 
  4. I had a shower in the hospital which felt great. 
  5. I had a luxurious shower this morning in my home without fear of the blood pressure nurse coming for me. 
  6. A Thank You Tote was given to everyone that tended me.  One of the Room Service people had been given one previously that I did not remember. I ran all out of assembled supply packets when she came with my tray. I was distressed she was being left out. She got hers the day before. 
  7. My neighbor came to the hospital to bring me home. He even carried in my cra….stuff. 
  8. Joe and his Cuisinart Smart Stand so I can have chipped ice at home. 
  9. I can make it myself when I need it, not wait for a member of nursing to bring it. 
  10. Sleep in my recliner as I need to. Not the waterbed for a while. I would pee myself trying to get out of bed. 
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rab Sadie
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 13:21:28

    I am so glad that you are doing better, and enjoy the peace of being in your own home.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 12:51:09

      Please forgive the long delay in responding to your very sweet and thoughtful comment. I appreciate your kindness.
      I am enjoying being home, and now I’m also enjoying being creative. Been too long since I had a great spark of Mojo ๐Ÿ˜€
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Toni
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 13:48:52

    So glad you’re home. It’s always nice to get home. Like I said yesterday, just don’t overdo. Do you have an alert button? If not, then I’m going to suggest that you get one, especially with Joe gone so much. ๐Ÿ’œ

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 12:48:37

      Sorry for the delay, Toni, in answering your comment. Yes, indeed, it may be a good idea to have one of those “life Alert” things for when Joe is away. I am beginning to figure out the times and energy flows where my body works the best. I need to drink more water and other fluids during this chemo therapy treatment period. I’m getting better. How is your son doing? You two are on a really rough patch in life. Both of you continue to be in my thoughts and prayers as you take this long trek together.
      Many HUGS – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Marianne Grimbly
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 18:30:26

    Leslie I am so glad to hear that you are home again. Trust me I know what extended hospital stays can be like as I once spent four and a half months in hospital. I was also in for 11 days for cellulitis that they just couldn’t get under control. At least now you can get some rest at night with no one waking you up! Take it easy! Don’t try to do too much.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 11:55:31

      YIKES! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Four and a half months in the hospital! Holy Cow that was a misery! So very glad that time is behind you, my goodness. Then another 11 days for cellulitis…that is some kind of skin infection isn’t it. Not like that horrid flesh eating virus but one that is almost as crazy.

      Please forgive the tardiness of my response to your wonderful comment. I appreciate you Marianne.
      Leslie

      Reply

  4. Brenda Estes
    Nov 08, 2016 @ 09:28:35

    What!, now I’m gonna have to buy one of those grinder thingies, I am happy for you, seen you home is wonderful, take care and enjoy

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 11:52:25

      Thank you, Brenda. I am so behind in everything, so please forgive my tardy response to your comment. That thing worked so well for the time I needed it to. Now I am back to water….preferably chilled well….to keep me hydrated during my chemo treatments. I appreciate you, Brenda.
      Leslie

      Reply

  5. Kim
    Nov 08, 2016 @ 11:27:47

    Bless you hunni. Remember though that although it is water ice cubes/ chips are unfortunately fattening. I learnt this while pregnant our body somehow absorbs it different as well as the chemical change in freezing. Take care my dear and glad to see you home. I have been thinking of you.

    Lots of love your new friend in the UK (Kym

    Feet up and rest

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 11:50:10

      Thank you Kim for the heads up on the shaved ice problem. I never knew there could be such a difference in treatment of ice and the results on the body. Thankfully I don’t have to do the shaved ice any longer and can drink regular water…chilled without ice….to get my dehydration situation squared away. I appreciate you Kim.
      Leslie

      Reply

  6. Betsy Skagen
    Nov 17, 2016 @ 16:17:04

    Sending healing thoughts your way. I am glad you are home.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2016 @ 11:44:45

      Thank you, Betsy. This is only temporary….this is only temporary. You think if I say it often enough I will believe it? ๐Ÿ™‚ Next year at this time all this drama will be only a memory. Thank you for your sweet comment, I appreciate you.
      Leslie

      Reply

  7. Rab Sadie
    Nov 18, 2016 @ 19:10:43

    Leslie, I am glad that you are home. I have been including you in my daily prayers, I have missing seeing your new videos, so I have went back and watched all of your older videos. I laughed so hard with Joe’s story of your adventure with the raccoon. I hope you feel better soon, take care of yourself. Oh and may I get your address, I have a small gift for you. God Bless

    Reply

  8. laurab4961
    Nov 23, 2016 @ 12:37:47

    I realized today while on youtube that I hadn’t seen you post in a while. Sorry to hear you were in hosp. and praying for you.

    Reply

  9. Susan Evans
    Dec 23, 2016 @ 13:43:56

    Hi Leslie,

    I have been following your blogs and your stuff on you tube. My prayers and good wishes are with you at this Christmas time. You are such an inspiration. God bless you.

    Reply

  10. Debbie
    Feb 02, 2017 @ 07:22:52

    Dear Leslie,
    You hang in there Prayers for your surgery and hope you have a speedy recovery. God bless you

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 22, 2017 @ 09:37:47

      Thank you, Debbie, for your sweet and loving comment left on my blog nearly a month ago. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to read a post and leave your warm hug with words.
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

