Going Old School to meet a need

Using a letter stencil

Using a letter stencil

There are many YouTube videos on using word dies on card fronts.  Boy, some cards are so awesome in their design and the creator of the cards are unbelievably talented.  I’ve wanted to make a card featuring the cut out word or phrase but I don’t have the proper dies.

I have letter stencils!

Letter stencils

Letter stencils

The trick is….turn the patterned paper  you wish to use over to the back side.  Also do the same with the letter stencil, turn it over so it is backwards.  The letter tracing will be from the RIGHT to the LEFT instead of how we normally read – Left to Right.

Backward stencil and back side of paper

Backward stencil and back side of paper

Carefully cut out the traced areas.  Make sure to go slow.  You can use the cut out parts on another card.

Use the positive and the negative

Use the positive and the negative

I was going to use my Tombow glue to attach these pieces but it didn’t want to come out.  I had to use Glossy Accents.  Worked fabulous on the large cut out piece, but got pretty messy on the cut away letters.

Glossy Accents

Glossy Accents

A bit messy from Glossy Accents

A bit messy from Glossy Accents

I have not used my little Xyron Sticker Maker in a long time.  Since I’ve already messed up the front of the letter piece with glue showing I might as well make it really shiny 😀

Xyron Sticker Maker

Xyron Sticker Maker

Glitter

Glitter

As a newby card maker or even a scrapbook layout person, don’t get yourself all boxed into the belief that you “HAVE TO HAVE” specific machines and tools to do what you want to do.  There is, ALWAYS, a way to do what you want.

I had my Chemo Port implanted yesterday while my tutorial video was going up.  Joe is out of town and will be home Sunday.  My neighbor was very kind to take me to the hospital and come and get me when the procedure was done.  What you see here is one drugged up woman 😀

Chemo Port implant

Chemo Port implant

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  Those of you that have been in the path of Michael my prayers have been for your safety and comfort.  Many people will be displaced for a time, electricity will be off in some areas, scary times for everyone.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pearl
    Oct 08, 2016 @ 21:21:30

    love what you did to cover up the glue. i love my tape runner as i don’t make any booboos. i am quite messy with glue and have to wash my hands a lot. lol. feel better dear friend. hugs. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

