There’s a Punch for that!

My hoard of punches

My hoard of punches

I am working on a video for Monday, September 12th, as a continuation on my series of videos for paper crafting beginners.  What hand punches do I recommend for a beginner.

First off…..Just because it is a paper punch does NOT mean you HAVE TO HAVE IT!  Trust me.  In that mess of punches, about 3/4 of them have not been used once since I purchased them.  Not once.  Never had its teeth (punch) sunk in paper.  NEVER!

Think about the many videos you have watched on YouTube.  What about the blogs you have read?  Someone has trotted out a punch.  Told you how amazing it is.  Shown you how to use it.  Made the paper piece look amazing.  Told you numerous times (in print or in video) how easy and smooth the punch was to work with.

Your precious sweet mind is full of ideas for projects to make.  Oh,  you tell yourself, having that punch will make those projects pop and be even more amazing!  You check on the availability of the punch at your favorite online stores, or even take a trip to your local craft/hobby store in search of this (cue a choir singing) punch that will make your creative life so much easier and even glorious!

Yep, yep, yep.  Detour.

Do a search for a particular punch and several types show up.  Down near the bottom of the page – or off to the right – are suggestions for something similar.  OR WORSE YET a row of hand tools with the heading “What others bought along with this item”!

You go into your local craft/hobby store looking for a particular hand punch……and

You hop from one hand punch to the next. Which one?  Which one?  WHICH ONE SHOULD I CHOOSE?  This one is more frilly.  This one is so straight and I can use it with lots of stuff.  If I get this one and this one I can layer them together.  Oh, oh, oh!  This one, that one, and THIS one!  Yes!

So…..you are at the check out.  Online or at the actual store.  Did you really intend to spend $45 to $60 dollars today?  Small punches range in price from $4.99 to $6.99.  Medium punches range in price from $7.99 to $10.99.  Large punches range in price from $15.99 to $24.99.

That mess of punches on my work table equates to about $400.  Seriously!  Punches can be expensive.  For a beginner paper crafter the price can be way to far out of their budget.  So how do you go about acquiring a set of punches?  One at a time.  If you keep watch on the sales of your favorite stores – even their clearance sections – you can find good deals on punches.  Those days you may be able to get two punches for under $20.

Start off with the BASIC SHAPES.  These can be used in so many ways.  Their versatility will always make for interesting scrapbook layouts and/or greeting cards.

Circle punches

Circle punches

Square punches

Square punches

I hope to have a video up on Monday to show these punches.  I’m having some difficulty right now.

How long does it take you to vacuum your home, do a quick dusting, clean the toilets, sweep and mop the kitchen and bathroom floors?  Used to take me about 2 hours. Do that in 2 hours now and the rest of the day, along with tomorrow is spent napping most of the day away.  Fighting the pain that comes with it.

Grocery shopping by myself for 3 hours then putting things away is getting harder and harder to do.  Recovery time is about the same, nearly 2 days.  So I’m learning that to get done what I want and need done can be as long as 4 days to do.  If I want to remain awake and able to function or be comatose.

So….until Monday my friends.

Leslie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DeeAnn
    Sep 11, 2016 @ 00:39:49

    Don’t push yourself. You are more important than clean home or grocery shopping. Do I ever hear you on punches. Luckily, I don’t have a lot. I am super picky about punches. I see those prices and I am like “No, thank you.” Have you noticed how expensive the punches are and how badly made they are. My favorite are Stampin Up & seriously don’t laugh but I love Hobby Lobby’s punches. The videos of “crafters” showing these latest and greatest punches. I get so frustrated because so many crafters don’t realize those ladies are from design teams and get all that stuff for free. They could care less about you as the crafter and teaching you good craft habits. They care about money and pushing the product. I was so stunned the other day watching a lady’s video she used close to a $1,000 worth of products on one project. That is too overwhelming for new crafters and I am sure a lot of talented girls have just given up because those videos made them feel like they will never be good unless they own three times the mortgage of craft supplies in their room. Can’t you tell this is one of my hot topics, lol. I am so glad your doing this video series. I know it is going to help a lot of people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

