Trying to get back on track with my YouTube videos.

On my YouTube channel I have designated Monday’s as being “Subscriber Question Day”.  Whatever the question is, no matter what it is about, I try to answer the question from my personal experience with a product or a tool.

Monday, September 5, is the second video in my Beginner Series.  This video was made possible by a question from Joke (YO-ka) Smits from The Netherlands.  She has a problem with paper.  Her problem is she doesn’t have any.

The specialty papers available for purchase, in stores or online, here in the US is mind boggling.  To those outside the US availability is not so easily attained, what with the cost of the product and shipping charges.

Joke, on Monday you will find a video that will help you in your quest for paper.  I hope anyway.  I have used Operation Write Home card sketch #59 for the card I feature.  Everything to create the card came from my junk mail.  Advertisements, catalogs, magazines, and whatever else I could find.

Belated Birthday Card from junk mail

Belated Birthday Card from junk mail

Joke, this card I have made does not come close to being “professional” quality but it is meant as a guide in helping you, and others like you, to “get your feet wet” before diving into the pool.

One day, Joke, you will have a space full of paper.  Colors, textures, sparkly, plain, thin and heavy weight.  AND you will have the very same problem with all the “proper” paper.  Like having a closet full of nice clothes and nothing to wear.

You have to find out if you even “Like” making greeting cards or would rather do something else.  Art journals, altered items (change them into something different than what they began life as), scrapbook layouts, or any other type of paper crafting.  It is a process that everyone goes through.  Everyone!

Yesterday, September 2 (Friday), I had my second go round of chemotherapy shots.

Round 2 of chemotherapy shots

Round 2 of chemotherapy shots

About 30 minutes after getting the shots…….Lord have Mercy.  My left breast with the cancer tumor was letting me know it was not dying without a fight.  Good grief!  The pain was intense at times, and unrelenting.  I had to take one of my heavy duty pain meds…..a current prescription of Hydrocodone.  In fact, I ended up taking one shortly after we got home and another before I went to bed last night.  Today the pain is manageable.

I will be in my craft room until I do something stupid.  Like bang my boob on something as I try to get around in my small space crammed to the gills with “stuff”.  Reach too high for something and a whole lot of “stuff” comes crashing down on my poor boob.  I will be trying to get ahead of the game in my YouTube videos.  Here at my blog, I will have to figure out some kind of a schedule for it also.  My friends and family on Facebook and Instagram, I’m trying to keep up with that, and  you, as well.  Forgive me being hit and miss.  More miss than hit.

Hope y0u enjoy the Holiday weekend of Labor Day here in the US.  A three day weekend for most everyone not in the service and hospitality industry.  Service and hospitality workers never get holidays off.  Nurses, doctors, food servers, hotel staff, grocery store workers, and all the other service workers.  Military families included.  For my military readers…..THANK YOU for your service.

Leslie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Toni
    Sep 03, 2016 @ 12:56:38

    Leslie, A great idea, using bits and pieces of your junk mail. I have done it for several years now but I have never made a card completely of the stuff. I have also cut up old photos and used pieces (just never anyone’s direct face) on cards or scrapbook pages. BTW I love the belated birthday card you made and posted. I’m going to save the picture and put it in my idea book.
    I hope you have a good rest of the day. Just remember to take short breaks and don’t over do. If you have to, have Joe post a message on how you are doing. Remember that as long as you are on this side of the dirt, you’re OK.
    My son start’s his chemotherapy(pills first) on the 11th and the radiation begins on the 12th. As I have said before, his is two types of brain cancer, stage 4 glioblastoma and metastatic squamous cell, both terminal. Without treatment 3 – 6 months, with treatment, possibly 1 – 2 years. We are just praying for the best and preparing for the worst.
    Keep on keeping on. We all love you 💜 and are praying 🙏 for you and Joe.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2016 @ 15:34:21

      Thank you, Toni, for your great comment on how you use junk mail and photos in your scrapbook layouts. Really great tips!
      You and your family have been in my prayers since you first told me of your son’s cancer. I didn’t know how little time you have left with him though. I will continue to pray for you and your family as your son goes through the treatments.
      I appreciate you, Toni, so very much. Thank you for being so supportive while you go through a worse time than I am.
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

  2. veeccee
    Sep 03, 2016 @ 16:34:24

    Leslie, you teach– not only with your crafts, but with your tenacity and refusal to be beaten……thank you so very much. This is such a lesson for anyone, no matter their battle. May you be blessed with strength and healing.
    As for your idea of subscribers questions, well, I personally have not made any cards for quite a while for several reasons. Have bought things like dies but not used them. Help….where do I begin? Am overwhelmed each time I just look at the dies and embossing folders. Any suggestions of a simple place and style to start with the basic dies etc.?
    Regards and hugs Veecee xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

