Joe had to sell his trailer.

Joe getting his work trailer ready to sell

Joe getting his work trailer ready to sell.

I posted this photo on Facebook last week, saying this made me sad.  My family and friends all reminded me that Joe loves me more than the trailer.  Which is very true and I am blessed to have him as my husband.

Still, it is hard to see Joe’s baby going away.  You see, this trailer was hand built by Joe.  He knows “Martha” as intimately as he knows me.

Joe chose the steel for her frame.  He chose a specific expanded steel that was welded into the trailer to securely hold our pickup for hundreds of miles.  Created very specific drawings for the steel pins that connect the two pieces together.  Every joint had been designed to move a particular way and the support pieces had to be a specific hardness.  The hydraulics running through the trailer were ordered by Joe with their own set of specifications.  All the electrical wiring was tied together where necessary, clipped to the frame in other places, heat shrunk at connections to keep out the elements.

For 10 years, Martha and Joe have been near constant companions.  He knows her quirks, creaks, groans, and what to do when she is having a tantrum.  And she does have them once in a while.  Martha has knocked him in the head several times.  Never hard enough to make him bleed, just enough to put a knot on his head.

Today, Martha is leaving us.

Transfer of ownership today

Transfer of ownership today

She is going to be in the care of another man that appreciates machinery as much as Joe does.  We are both confident that Martha has found a good home and she will help this man to keep a roof over his head and food on his table as she did for us.

The money received for the sale of Joe’s trailer will go towards our living expenses while I am being treated for my breast cancer.  The paperwork is going through the systems of the hospital, doctors, and clinics for my ongoing care.

Our daughter has created a GoFundMe Campaign to raise money from donors for my medical needs that will not be covered by the programs being put into place now for me.  If you wish to contribute you may do so by clicking on this link to “Leslie’s Pink Battle Brigade“.  Your donations are greatly appreciated.

I confess, I feel quite awkward about  asking for your help.  I don’t ask for help.  I just figure out a way to make things happen.  This is a time when the situation is way beyond my control and I have Joe to think about.  As well as my adorable grandchildren.  My loving children, too.

In point of fact, it was my loving children that informed me they were going to create the GoFundMe Campaign and I was not allowed to refuse it.

There is a link to the right of this page.  A photo of me with one of my granddaughters in my lap.  Clicking on that photo will take you to the “Leslie’s Pink Battle Brigade” if you wish to donate at a later time.  This is the only time you will get this request from me on this matter.

To all of you who have contacted me on YouTube and Facebook.  Each of you that have given me your love, prayers, hugs, encouragement, and support I cannot thank you enough.  I have been overwhelmed by the love for several days now and am very appreciative of each of  you.

Thank you –

Leslie

Leave a Reply

