Sometimes you have to prime the pump. 

Many of you don’t have a clue what this phrase means. You have to be older than 50 to get the reference. 

Long ago there used to be water wells with a pump handle above ground. To get water out of the spigot the handle had to be pumped up and down. A person had to do a lot of pumping to fill a bucket. 

If continuous pumping had no effect, generally, there was a bucket with a tin cup near the water station. A small fluted piece near the top of the pump had an opening that went down to the stopper. The application of water down the flute, with the aid of the metal cup, would loosen the diaphragm which would allow for water flow up the pump. This was known as “Priming” the pump. 

Whatever is going on in your life that keeps you from your craft space and your creativity sometimes makes it difficult to express your self artistically. 

I’ve had quite a long dry spell recently. No time to switch gears in my mind to let the creative process work on my parched soul. A little poetic license there. Not seeking sympathy. 

I had an opportunity to dive into my craft stash at a hotel in Percival, Iowa. Which is just a couple miles from Nebraska off Interstate 29. 

  
My intent was to make a card featuring several scrap papers having been punched with a decorative border punch. 

   
   
My idea was to have the lacy border accent a decorative sentiment tag. 

  
Nothing worked right. In frustration I gave up and put my stuff away. Feeling a bit of performance anxiety, and a whole lot of negative self talk, I had to walk away from it. 

My results are less than stellar but I think I have “Primed” the pump and hopefully in the next few days I will have a solution to my problem. 

Sometimes you have to have a bad day of creativity to enjoy the good days when your Mojo is back and the pump is fully working. Filling your soul with the life giving “water” of sharing your talent. 

Don’t beat yourself up over the failures. Rejoice in the act of creativity….even if it comes to nothing. Tomorrow will be better. 
Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl hudson
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 23:04:31

    I feel for you and don’t give up as it will come back. when I feel like this I look at pinterest or watch some tutorials and soon I am wanting to make something I have seen. bit hard when you have limited supplies but I reckon you have enough to make something wonderful. probably sleep is what you need right now. rest up dear friend. hugs.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 06, 2016 @ 12:08:10

      Thank you Pearl for your kindness to me.

      I don’t know if you have more self control than I do. Probably so by your comment. Pinterest is one of those places I go to and get totally lost. I begin looking for card making ideas and end up looking through how to photos for braiding long hair…..how to paint a piece of furniture to look shabby when I really can’t stand that style (makes me want to sand it all off and start over)…..or I spend quite a bit of time looking at the new fashion trends and wonder why people even bother with clothing since I can almost see their hoo-hoo and the top parts are a sneeze away from escaping. Lordy.

      I get easily distracted and can’t find my way back LOL

      Love you my Bionic Friend. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

