Tell a story with stickers.

It has been quite a while since I blew the dust off this blog.

Recently I have been watching videos about making your own embellishments for cards, scrapbook layouts, artist trading cards, and just to have a stash of things you like and will use.  And, as usual, I got sidetracked in my room as I began hunting through my sticker stash to create embellishments.

I’ve made three tags, over the last few days, using my stickers from 2005 and an old 2013 Atlas.

Road trip tags using stickers.  Front

Road trip tags using stickers. Front

Road trip tags using old maps.  Back

Road trip tags using old maps. Back

The “Process” video at the end of this post will show you how I made the center tag.  The same steps have been used for all three of them.  Each with a little bit of something different but the theme remains the same.

The tag I made today is about a stop necessary on any road trip.  Getting gas and all the other important things that get done at a gas station.

This is one of those creations that starts out with promise and quickly ends up going in the dumper.  I did NOT like what I had created.

This was too much of a mess for my liking.

This was too much of a mess for my liking.

Cut out all the stickers and start over.

Cut out all the stickers and start over.

I went to my computer and typed out the words I had originally hand written.  I have a Xyron Sticker Maker.  I cut the printer paper down to a size sufficient to be fed through the Xyron then cut the pieces out.

Used my computer to create the phrases.

Used my computer to create the phrases.

My Xyron Sticker Maker is ideal for this.

My Xyron Sticker Maker is ideal for this.

Cut the paper down to size and feed through.

Cut the paper down to size and feed through.

So easy and it creates the stickey back automatically.

So easy and it creates the sticky back automatically.

I like this now!

I like this now!

Get all my  phrases cut out.

Get all my phrases cut out.

I spent a little time for placement of my new stickers.  Before I attached them I cut them down to better word strips.  After attaching them to the tag, with an additional bit of glue, I drew around them with a black micro pen.

Placement tryout.  Change things around before they are applied.

Placement tryout. Change things around before they are applied.

Now that looks so much better!

Now that looks so much better!

I even saved the old truck I stamped from the Stampers Anonymous “The Journey” stamp set.   The truck went on the back of the tag as part of the map feature.

Back of tag is complete.

Back of tag is complete.

Here is the “Process” video if you want to see how to create  your own tags featuring the stickers you have in your stash.  Enjoy your creative time.

Leslie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 19:30:40

    the tags are great and i agree that the second go on the one, looks much better. is that sticker maker worth buying as i have often looked at them and tell myself that i really don’t need one. I have been saying that for years. I was thing that I would be forever buying refils but I guess you don’t use it all the time. anyway I love your tags. hugs to you my happy friend. xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 07, 2016 @ 07:43:46

      Thank you, Pearl. I don’t think my heart was really into the creative process when I began tag number 3. It showed itself as being half-hearted :/ The Xyron products are a convenience. If you have a lot of little stuff and know that the gluing process is going to be long and tedious, this little Sticker Maker is ideal. For example, if you have a desire to die cut letters to spell out “Congratulations”. You may even have the shadow piece to put the letters on top. All of the components of this set can be fed through the Xyron Sticker Maker for ease of application.

      My little Xyron has been neglected for quite a number of years. Tucked away in my closet with the other Xyrons I have. I used to be able to find the refill cartridges in nearly every craft store….now they are not as prominent as they once were. Not always, but occasionally, the adhesive is spotty on a strip requiring an additional glue. That I think is “Operator Faulty”. LOL

      So, my Bionic Friend…..consider this a “Convenience Item” and not a “Gotta Have It” item. If you will be cranking out a lot of cards featuring the same small things….leaving highlights from dried wet glue……this tool would be ideal for that. To use as an everyday crafting tool, the expense would be greater than the convenience. Here the refills are about $7.00 US, I can’t imagine what they cost in the Land Down Under :/

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Feb 08, 2016 @ 07:58:36

    Great having you back, Leslie! Great project as well! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

