I remember when….

my daughter, Carissa, was little- starting at 3 years old. Christmas time was not much for us because I didn’t make enough money for a lot of the hoped for and dreamed of toys and things for her. 

What I did have was a kitchen stocked with everyday pantry standards. The bit of extra money I had went to buy stuff to make Holiday cookies and candy. 

Carissa at my side as I mixed, baked, and cooked. Her asking me all the important questions of life. 

Where does Santa live?  Does he live near baby Jesus?  Do Santa’s reindeer have wings like angels do to make them fly?  Will Santa come to Arizona?  We don’t have snow yet so his sleigh of toys won’t be able to land.

In a couple years she will be answering these very important questions posed by here sweet little girls. Pearl and Ruth. 

   

  
Yesterday I got to be at Carissa’s side as she made the Christmas cookies. This Mom is all testy eyed remembering those long ago days. 

  
  
Enjoy your Holiday traditions as a family and revel in the memories as those traditions get passed down. Now I need to wipe my eyes and blow my nose. 

Leslie

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carissa
    Dec 20, 2015 @ 19:52:00

    I loved making cookies with you!!! We had 3 generations of women in our family in my kitchen. What an honor!!!! Love you mom..bigger than the world!! ❤❤❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

