How to make Push Pin charms.

Today is Monday and it is another “Subscriber Question” day for my YouTube video subscribers.  Last week I made a step by step video on altering a Goodwill store picture frame into a cork bulletin board.  The Push Pins for the board were made using Tim Holtz Facet Charms.  I had a couple of requests to show how I made the charms.

For those of you that would like to see the finished board, I will show you the piece as I was cutting away the backing paper.

Altered Goodwill picture frame

Altered Goodwill picture frame.

The charms for this project were made using the Tim Holtz Facet Charms.

Altered Tim Holtz Fragment Charms

Altered Tim Holtz Facet Charms

The Facet Charms are clear, the backs of the charms are flat.  I dug through my scrap paper stash to find images that I liked and thought would look good as focal pieces for the charms.

Using Glossy Accents, I applied some to the back of the Facet and adhered it to the paper.  Squishing it around a little to level out the glue and make sure it came out to the edges of the charm.  Setting it aside for an hour or two to dry, then cut around the charm to remove the excess paper.  These pieces can be made into necklace pendants or large charm pendants when finished.

I had used the last of the Facet Charms I had stashed away.  For today’s tutorial I dug into my stash of Tim Holtz Fragment Charms to answer the question posed.

The E-6000 glue I used to attach the jump rings to the Push Pins has been set aside to dry.  I have them backed with wax paper so the glue doesn’t get permanently seated to the scrap of cork I used for the pressure and drying process.

Tim Holtz Fragment Charms.  Drying the E-6000 glue

Tim Holtz Fragment Charms. Drying the E-6000 glue

The Fragment Charms are created the same as with the Facet Charms.  Apply Glossy Accents to the back of the charm, place on the patterned paper in the desired place, squish it around until the glue is distributed evenly and squeezes out to the edges.  Set aside to dry and cut the excess paper away.

The Fragment Charms come in a package of 48 pieces in different sizes and shapes.  These are just the right size for those of you that make jewelry.  Necklace pendants with matching earrings can be made through this same process.  I would advise covering the back of the paper adhered to the charm with an even coating of Glossy Accents.  This will protect the paper from body oils and sweat that would degrade the paper.

If you would like to see the entire process, I have included a video of the tutorial below.

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shushan
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 04:53:54

    Hello dear,
    Thank you so much once again for your wonderful help. I made a key-ring where I used Glossy Accents Glue to adhere the Cabochon with paper and also the pendant. After some 8 or 9 months, only the cabochon glass came out of of the pendant ( and the paper). I have absolutely no idea what went wrong. I used 300 gsm matt paper.
    Please help me out.
    Thank you
    Sincerely yours
    Shushan

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 31, 2016 @ 13:07:55

      I just now found your comment. Good grief! I’m so very sorry for the delay in responding to your catastrophe!

      You state you used Glossy Accents to adhere a Cabochon with paper to a key-ring pendant. Am I to understand the entire Cabochon popped out? Did the decorative paper get damaged in the process? If everything came out – fully intact – I would suggest you find a glue that has more industrial strength than Glossy Accents. There is a glue that is most excellent for this type of thing. It is called “E-6000”.

      My recommendation would be to assess your piece, make any corrections you feel are needed. Once the piece is fully dry, after your repairs, apply the E-6000 to the back of your piece and attach it to the pendant. Press it firmly in place to seat it. Leave it to dry for 24 to 48 hours. The E-6000 is waterproof and nearly – NEARLY – indestructible.

      I hope this helps. Once again, I’m sorry for the delay in answering your question.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

