Priceless art found at Goodwill store.

Okay, so I’ve lied.  Just to get you in to read my blog.  Shameless bit of self promotion.  😦

One of my YouTube subscribers and Facebook followers has told me she has put herself on an extremely strict craft buying budget.  Her question was “What can I make for Christmas presents”?

If you have followed my blog you may know that I do a lot of altering of items that are culled from the trash/recycling or purchased items from thrift stores.  Currently, I am working on a cork bulletin board project.

When I go to the Goodwill store I always look for picture frames that are undamaged.  Even if the glass is broken but the frame is in good shape I will purchase it.  Last year I found several of them and they have been waiting for my attention.  I’ve chosen one that would be a good size, I think.

Frame from the Goodwill

Frame from the Goodwill

This beauty was priced for the fabulous art, I think.

Price for the frame

Price for the frame

There is some really great floral reliefs on the frame that I want to bring out.

Floral reliefs on frame

Floral reliefs on frame

The back side of the frame is deeply inset and not damaged from paper backing or a bazillion staples.

The back looks good and not damaged

The back looks good and not damaged

The staples holding the artwork in place will be easily removed.

Staples are in good condition

Staples are in good condition

Several years ago I purchased a giant piece of industrial cork from a supplier in Oklahoma City.  This cork is a specialty item.  It has been combined with rubber and been processed to be “Self Healing”.  Any place a stick pin goes, once removed the cork will close the hole and not wallow out bigger.  This is the piece that Joe cut for me from my giant piece.

Self-healing cork

Self-healing cork

Check out your local hardware store or flooring center for cork tile flooring.  This type of cork is thicker.  The wafer thin cork that comes with the cork boards sold in most stores is backed by a piece of wood that is not as good as the thicker pieces of flooring or specialty cork.

I am working on a tutorial of how to do this type of a project.  With the steps involved, this is not a project that is quick.  It takes several days to do.  There is a lot of waiting for different products to dry or become workable.  Contact cement to adhere the cork to a wood backing piece, paint to dry, glue to dry.

The papers I have chosen to adhere to the cork are from a Paper Studio pack I received as a Christmas present last year…or the year before….from one of my daughters.

Paper Studio Kirby Teesdale Collection

Paper Studio Kirby Teesdale Collection

I cut the papers to fit and glued them on with my FAVORITE adhesive in the world.  Club Scrap’s Book Binding and Laminating glue.  You can use Mod Podge on this type of a project.  I have done that and it works great.

Using Club Scrap's Bookbinding and Laminating glue

Using Club Scrap’s Bookbinding and Laminating glue

For the next 24 hours this puppy will be squished under my two dutch ovens while the glue dries and the paper is permanently adhered to the cork.

Waiting for the glue to dry

Waiting for the glue to dry

For a few dollars, you can take anything that is lost and forlorn and make it into a thing of beauty.  That is what I am shooting for anyway.  The beauty part that is.

Leslie

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 21:02:42

    I’ve always enjoyed you altering items culled from the trash in order to make them more beautiful and artistic. This is a great example. A frame out of nothing is an amazing thing, Leslie. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 04, 2015 @ 08:32:05

      Thank you, Jack. I appreciate you very much. You have hung in with me for several years and leave very kind and encouraging comments. Thank you for your friendship. And your blog posts of all things, most things, scary. 😀

      Reply

  2. pearl Hudson
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 22:40:26

    what a great find. it is a really good frame and it is a great project. look forward to seeing the video. hugs to you Leslie.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 04, 2015 @ 08:35:39

      Thank you, Pearl. That might not be happening any time soon. AT&T U-Verse is my internet provider. It is down more than it is up. $&@:#%£¥. They have got on my last nerve!!!

      I do appreciate your encouragement, Pearl. Giant squeezy hugs to you my friend.

      Reply

  3. Betsy Skagen
    Nov 06, 2015 @ 10:18:14

    I can’t wait to see what this becomes. I have so many frames awaiting my attention. Then again, I have so many found objects awaiting my attention. Why is there not 10 more hours in every day?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 16, 2015 @ 06:54:33

      Betsy! I’m sorry for the delay in answering your comment 😦 I finished the cork bulletin board just before my computer came back from the shop. I had been without it for a week and have been playing catch up since it had been fixed. I certainly know what you mean about not having more hours in a day. Thank you for reading my blog and leaving a comment.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

