Subscriber Question Monday – What can I make for Christmas presents?

Today’s question comes from one of my YouTube subscribers and a Facebook follower, Cyndi Farmer.  She is pretty  new to paper crafting and has made some really great scrapbook layouts.  She is now working on some Christmas tags and embellishments.  Poor Cyndi….she has experienced the “endorphin” rush associated with visiting craft stores and watching YouTube Haul videos, as well as tutorials.  She is now on a spending FREEZE for an indeterminate amount of time.

The question Cyndi posed to me was:  “I need ideas for family!  What would be budget friendly gifts?”

Well….if you have been a follower of my blog for any length of time you will know that aside from my husband, Joe, anything I can get my hands on is fair game to alter and decorate.

Cork bulletin board for my Son-In-Law - November 2010

Ta-Daaaa – Cork bulletin board for my Son-In-Law – November 2010

Cork bulletin board for my daughter

Late Birthday present – Cork bulletin board for my daughter – November 2010

Taa Daa

Taa Daa Rubber stamp blocks turned into photo frames – April 2011

Lawn mower

Lawn mower – A page from a mini album I made using computer guts – April 2011

After Maureen's suggestion

After Maureen’s suggestion – Altered cigar box – April 2011

Tiffany's wooden box

Tiffany’s wooden box

Inside the box

Inside the box – Altered coffin box – April 2011

Inside of box

Inside of box – Altered shadow box – June 2011

Fishing themed

Fishing themed – Post-It-Note Holder – November 2011

My Favorite

My Favorite – Altered Domino – January 2012

Inside of desk organizer Graphic 45's ABC Primer

Altered desk accessory box – September 2012

The corners decoratedCork bulletin board – December 2012

Neck pouch with card wallet

Neck pouch with card wallet – December 2013

Ta Da-a-a-a-a

Ta Da-a-a-a-a – Altered file folders February 2014

Mardi Gras mask for my daughter

Mardi Gras mask for my daughter – April 2014

Birdhouse turned jewelry organizer

Birdhouse turned jewelry organizer – May 2014

My first purse charm

My first purse charm – September 2014

Original clock face next to the altered clock.

Original clock face next to the altered clock. January 2015

Altered pickle jar.

Altered pickle jar. – January 2015

That was an interesting trip down memory lane for me.  Most of these projects seem to have been done weeks ago and not years!

I hope that you, dear reader, have been inspired to see what odd item you have hiding in your deep dark spaces or the trash/recycling bin.  Give it a new life.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 06:42:30

    my goodness you are very creative Leslie. all those altered things. i will have to look around and see what i can alter at my place. hugs to you.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 02, 2015 @ 13:57:48

      LOL I can imagine your family will, at first, say something like “What are you doing with that?!” After a while they will say “What are your plans for that?”. And then they will say something like “Hey, do you want to have this?” 😀 LOL
      Hugs my friend

      Reply

  2. Brenda Estes
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 07:49:36

    Great ideas, thank you for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

