Tool Envy. The roadblock to creativity.

Sometimes, not often, a bit of envy creeps in on us in the paper crafting arena.  There are so many tools on the market for paper crafters.  Die cutting machines, embossing machines, die cutting AND embossing machines, Score Boards AND Scor-Pals, electronic cutting machines like the Cricut.  Paper trimmers, hand tools, and punches.

It would cost a fortune to trick your craft space out with the latest and greatest.  Or even with the oldies and goodies found at yard sales, thrift shops, and auction sites.

Having been a new craft person myself, years ago, I spent a lot of time watching YouTube videos on creating all manner of things.  I found myself in a catastrophic “Hoarder” position. Each video I watched I knew I just HAD TO HAVE the tools used in the videos.  It got so bad that I had to stay out on the road as a truck driver to (1) earn back the money I spent in the craft stores and (2) STAY OUT of the craft stores so I wouldn’t spend any more money.

My YouTube channel is all about using what you have.  No More Tool Envy PART 1 and PART 2.

So for those new to the paper crafting world that don’t have a die cutting machine to use the Tim Holtz rosette die; or can’t quite afford to plonk down over $30 for a Score Board or Scor-Pal; or find the $15 to $20 border punches.  I have two videos up today on creating accordion fold rosettes using nothing more than a pencil, ruler, bone folder, a pair of scissors, a paper trimmer, some kind of adhesive, and a bit of your time.

Accordion fold rosettes

Accordion fold rosettes

Making the rosettes the “Old Fashioned Way” is easy to do.  I have quite a number of Christmas themed stickers that are 15 years old that need to be used up instead of neglected and stuffed away.

My second video, or Part 2 of No More Tool Envy, I use those old stickers by giving them a face lift, if you will.  Adding glitter glue and a bit of ribbon.  Or take two stickers that are exactly the same and making them dimensional.

Dimensional stickers

Dimensional stickers

OLD stickers, lace, and glitter glues

OLD stickers, lace, and glitter glues

OLD chipboard pieces, stickers, and lace

OLD chipboard pieces, stickers, and lace

Even OLD decorative edge scissors

Even OLD decorative edge scissors

Make use of your new found creativity and explore the avenues that open to you as you USE WHAT YOU  HAVE to create awesome things.

 

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betsy Skagen
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 10:24:14

    Those are beautiful. Funny I was just making snowflake rosettes yesterday. I often make mine by hand, but admittedly this time I did use the Holtz die. 😀

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 31, 2015 @ 07:10:08

      I’ve seen the Tim Holtz snowflake rosettes and they are beautiful. That die is set up to do everything for you except put itself together. 😀 LOL Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate you.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. pearl Hudson
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 20:52:48

    Leslie this is a fabulous video to remind us that we really don’t need all the “costly stuff” to make things easier. my downfall is buying dies. there are so many out there that are so beautiful but i ask myself how many cards like this am i going to make. i am fortunate that i have an outlet for my creations close by so have an excuse to make lots of cards and also donate cards to 2 charities but that doesn’t excuse excessive buying so have to restrain myself. there are lots of videos on utube to show us how to make cards like “swing cards” without the expensive dies and your video is another.great reminder. hugs to you my friend.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 31, 2015 @ 07:42:42

      Thank you, Pearl. It is so easy to get caught up in the near feeding frenzy of YouTube tutorials and the tools shared. The very talented creators of everything lovely are inspirational. I am quite envious of you in that you make a lot of cards for charities which bring about many smiles and glad hearts. I am thinking your mention of an “outlet” for your creations is where you sell your cards. I am not that industrious 😦 It has only been this past year that I feel my cards are good enough to go out to the general public instead of foisted off on my family members 😀 AND you do all this while in pain. I am in AWE of you my Bionic Friend
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

