Card making supplies at your local hardware store.

Metal duct tape used on cards

Metal duct tape used on cards

In the storage cabinet above my work table is a plethora of adhesives I use.  One of those adhesives is a roll of metal duct tape I’ve had for a number of years.  I used it to make my ink pad, ink refill, and shimmery spritz storage units several years back.

Ink pad and spritz storage from foam core and metal duct tape

Ink pad and spritz storage from foam core and metal duct tape

The metal duct tape comes on a roll about two inches wide and I don’t even know how many yards.  I have used this tape with embossing folders but not with my dies.  I thought I would do some experimenting.

Metal duct tape and dies

Metal duct tape and dies

In my scrap stash I have a lot of three inch square pieces of paper.  So if I screwed up there would be no hardship on me.

An experiment with metal tape and dies

An experiment with metal tape and dies

The die cut snowflakes disappeared in the patterned paper.  I wondered what they would look like on white paper.

Metal tape die cuts on white paper

Metal tape die cuts on white paper

Finding success in using dies with the metal tape I took it one step further and smoothed the tape over a piece of card stock to be used on a card front and ran it through my Big Shot with a snowflake embossing folder from Stampin’ Up!  Some glitter, a bit of Distress Stickles, and a Stampin’ Up! “Let it snow” rubber stamp were the feature items of the card front.

Embossed metal tape

Embossed metal tape

I made two sets of cards.  One dark and one light.  I can’t decided which one I like the best so I sent it out to my Facebook followers to chime in.  The consensus has gone to the darker card.

And here is the card with the snowflake die cuts peeking out from behind the snowman.

Metal tape die cuts on card front

Metal tape die cuts on card front

I used Operation Write Home Card Sketch #16 on this project if you want to know how I made it.  The metal duct tape at the hardware store will make you gulp at the price when you see it.  It is almost $20 for a roll of the metal tape.  Keep in mind that this tape will last for a long time.  It is not used in everyday crafting projects like other adhesives are.

Here is my YouTube video showing the process I used to make these cards with the metal duct tape.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Oct 24, 2015 @ 02:05:21

    that is so ingenious of you. you have me wondering if we could do this with a good quality kitchen foil. i have some so am going to experiment and let you know. the duct tape is expensive but it looks like you have done a lot with it as the cupboard you made for your inks is terrific. i like the dark card the best also but they are both great. hugs to you Leslie.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 24, 2015 @ 06:12:27

      I have not watched them but I have seen a few videos lined up featuring the Cuttlebug machine with kitchen foil. I was on the hunt for videos showing how to emboss metal using the Cuttlebug for one of my Facebook friends. I’d like to know how you fared with the challenge. What adhesive you used on the finished project, how fiddly and delicate was the kitchen foil. I enjoy using stuff that is not common to paper crafting but works well.

      My ink pad and spritz storage units were inspired by a woman who used regular packaging cardboard for her storage needs. I hate, ABSOLUTELY hate, the hot glue gun. That is why I chose the metal tape.
      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Oct 25, 2015 @ 20:18:50

    I’ve got to hand it to you, Leslie–there really isn’t anything in the world that can replace the trill of creating our very own Christmas cards. Yours are amazing. I really do enjoy them–reading through them, looking at them and their presentation. I simply think your ideas are amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

