Trash to Treasure – Recycling

Okay, that “Treasure” part is a bit of a stretch, but I figured it would be a catchy title.  😀

I have not done a video tutorial on repurposing or recycling a food box that is bound for the trash.  I did take photos of my progress throughout the process and I will share it with you here.

Joe likes the strawberry flavored Pop Tarts.  We purchased a giant sized box of them from our local Sam’s Club.  Inside the box were two more boxes…which I didn’t keep because of the way they opened.  Even with the perforated cut lines the boxes tore all kinds of ways that were not even along the perforations :/

Anyway…..Once I had the box in my craft room I cut the flaps off first thing.

Cut the flaps away to have an open box

Cut the flaps away to have an open box

No fancy tools needed to do this.  Just a pair of scissors will work.

Use scissors or a craft knife

Use scissors or a craft knife

I saved the long flaps to cover the hole in the bottom of the box.

Hole in bottom of box

Hole in bottom of box

Flaps to cover the hole

Flaps to cover the hole

The paper I used is from my stash of design paper.  It measures 11-3/4 x 11-3/4.  I cut the paper at 5-7/8 to get it, roughly, cut in half.  With one sheet of the paper I laid it against one side of the box leaving about 1/2 inch over the top of the box so I could cover the rough edges.  Where the paper rounds the corner I cut a notch out at the fold line for ease of turning the corner and relieving a bulky pinch point.

Place the paper over the front of the box, excess paper folded over and a notch cut out for the corner

Place the paper over the box front, with the top excess fold and cut a notch where it turns the corner

Apply adhesive of your choice to the back of the paper then attach it to the box.

Apply adhesive of your choice and apply to the box

Apply adhesive of your choice and apply to the box

Smooth the paper over the box and press the top edge inward.

Smooth the paper over the box and tuck the top edge inward

Smooth the paper over the box and tuck the top edge inward

Cover the inside of the box to  hide the edges and cover the box flaps that are now the bottom of the box.

Cover the inside of the box to hide the edges

Cover the inside of the box to hide the edges

Decorate the outside of the box to finish it off.

Altered Pop Tart box

Altered Pop Tart box

Coming up in my repertoire of ideas is a trip to the hardware store to purchase a roll of metal duct tape.  I’m going to be using the tape on some dies for a couple of winter themed cards.

Metal duct tape and dies

Metal duct tape and dies

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jesska
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 11:17:41

    Metallic duct tape sounds amazing 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jesska
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 11:18:51

    And how do you get the paper onto the box without wrinkles or getting glue everywhere?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 21, 2015 @ 11:53:09

      Now if I tell you that, I’ll give away all my secrets 😀 No….just easy does it on the amount of glue applied and working out the crooked and wrinkly as you go while attaching the paper to the box. I work from left to right when applying a large gooey piece of paper on the box. Doesn’t completely guaranty no wonky but it comes close enough 😀

      Reply

  3. pearl Hudson
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 01:43:32

    well the box looks great Leslie. and you even used some flowers too and they are very pretty. can’t wait to see the duct tape creations. hugs to you.xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 22, 2015 @ 07:34:02

      Thank you, Pearl. The flowers and glittery things were from that giant stash I got from Bobbie (CraftyCritter919). On the metal duct tape thing….you may be adding an unusual hardware store item to your craft room 😀 LOL
      Hugs to you my Bionic Friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

