Subscriber Question Monday – Where do I find measurements for card pieces

One of my YouTube Subscribers is a beginning card maker and has posed some really great questions.  The most recent one is where to find the myriad of measurements for elements on greeting card fronts.

The internet is rife with card sketches of all types.  Operation Write Home is the very best place to seek out when it comes to fully answering this question.  The people over there have done an amazing job at documenting the size of elements to be placed on cards.  They leave the designing of the card to you.

I have used Operation Write Home card sketch #09 for today’s YouTube tutorial.

Using a card sketch

Using a card sketch

Last week, on my YouTube channel, I introduced the concept of getting your stash of used card stock and design papers cut up and sorted.  I showed  how I store my scraps in one video.

The card front for today, like I said, from Operation Write Home Card Sketch #09 I selected several pieces of my card stock and designer paper scraps for the elements of the card front.

Scrap pieces for a Birthday card

Scrap pieces for a Birthday card

The two stamp sets I used on the card front – the birthday cakes and the Happy Birthday sentiment – are old stamp sets from Stampin’ Up! that have been discontinued.  You may have a stash of rubber stamps similar in height and width for the right portion of the card front and for the boxy area to the left.  You are the card designer.  Have a look at your stamp stash and come up with your very own card using the paper scraps from your stash.

One final item.  That Pop Tart box….well I have battled with the devil (my hot glue gun which I totally dislike using).  I ventured into “Girly” territory and used some glittery pieces given to me by one of my YouTube Subscribers and some flowers she sent to me.  Now I can say that crazy box is done!

Altered Pop Tart box

Altered Pop Tart box

If you want to watch the video I made featuring today’s Subscriber Question, I have added it below.

Leslie

Leave a Reply

