New construction project takes aim at disasters.

What am I talking about? :/

I had a big problem and I needed to solve it before I could go any further with the Pop Tarts box alteration.  Ribbon drawer was a flaming mess (I’d use the other “F” word but it is highly inappropriate).  Then I had another mess with my scrap pieces of chipboard hurtling to their doom as they leaped from the shelf they were stored on.

I made six boxes from the scrap chipboard pieces.  The pieces measure as follows:

  • Bottom of box – 6 inches by 3-1/4 inches (1 per box)
  • Sides of box – 6 inches by 1-1/2 inches (2 per box)
  • Front and back of box – 3-1/4 inches by 1-1/2 inches (2 per box)

You will see in the photo that my front and back pieces are taller than the sides of the box.  I just didn’t want to cut them down.  Call me lazy :/

Handmade chipboard box

Handmade chipboard box

There will be a full tutorial on  making this box on Wednesday, October 21, 2015.  I have to edit the video first.

I used four sheets of 8-1/2 x 11 kraft colored card stock cut into one inch strips.  I cut them from the 11 inch width and got 11 strips from each sheet of paper.

Kraft card stock cut into 1 inch strips

Kraft card stock cut into 1 inch strips

Each piece of card stock was scored down the center at 1/2 inch.  These strips are used to put the boxes together and give the chipboard strength.  I got out my “Big Guns”.  The giant roll of double sided adhesive I purchased a couple years ago from a surplus store in Wichita, Kansas.

Adding adhesive to the strip of card stock

Adding adhesive to the strips of card stock

I didn’t cover the boxes with paper and decorate them up all nice and sweet.  They won’t be seen by anyone…..maybe not even ME :/

Box to hold my ribbon

Box to hold my ribbon

After creating six of these boxes, that flaming mess of a ribbon drawer is now organized.  One construction project took care of TWO DISASTERS.  Go Me!  😀

Organized ribbon drawer

Organized ribbon drawer

Now that I have done all of that work…..I wonder if I will get back to the paper covered Pop Tarts box?  Leslie, get your butt in gear and finish that project!

Leslie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 07:37:59

    well done you. what a great job. all nice and tidy again.now back to that pot tart box. hugs to you.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 19, 2015 @ 06:56:48

      Geezers, my Bionic Friend, you are now a task master 😀 LOL I did finish that box with ribbon and flowers. Whew, that scary thing I can check off my list of to do items 😀
      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 17:02:30

    This is the stuff I’m looking to do with my office. I have all sorts of knick-knacks hanging around that it becomes impossible to manage. Organizers are great, but this idea is better since it puts together the little trinkets all in one place! 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 19, 2015 @ 07:07:53

      Thank you, Jack. Since you have mentioned that you have done quite a bit of remodeling of your home….I’m assuming you have experience with the “Man” tools….the power tools. The chipboard box I made measures: Bottom 6″ x 3-1/4″; Sides 1-1/2″ x 6″; Front and Back 1-1/2″ x 3-1/4″. I made six of these boxes in about 3 hours with the chipboard. By the way….my mortician daughter – I’ve sent her a link to your blog and told her about your “Ranger Martin” trilogy and your newest installment of the trilogy will be available later this week. I’m trying to help get your books flying off the shelf 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

      • Jack Flacco
        Oct 19, 2015 @ 07:11:11

        Thanks so much, Leslie. Every little bit helps!

        And yes, I’ve very familiar with man tools! lol You’re organizer box is something I can do in a quick seconds. It’s just a matter of finding the time. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

