Construction project halted due to entanglement.

The greeting cards I have made recently have disappeared.  Frankly, I can’t remember where I put them to get them out of the way for all the other projects I am dabbling in.  Never fear, I will find them.

When I went through all the paper I have stashed away to do my video for creating a scrap stash, I found some sort of plaid paper that would be good on a food box altering project.

Altering a food box

Altering a food box

While I was on the phone with Bobbie, from CraftyCritter919 on YouTube, discussing a “Collaboration” we could do together I started this altered box project.  By the time I had to leave with Joe to do some things for him and leave the conversation with Bobbie I had the box pretty well covered.

Food box covered in paper

Food box covered in paper

When Joe and I got back home I went to work on the inside of the box.  In the photo above, under the box are the closing flap pieces.  I covered them with a coordinating piece of paper from this stash to cover the hole left in the box by the manufacturer.

Inside of food box covered

Inside of food box covered

Okay folks, this is where the wheels fell off and construction was halted.  I have a lot of ribbon.  I want to wrap a 1 or 2 inch wide piece of ribbon around the box.  I know I have that in my stash.  Only problem is….well you’ll see.

Flaming mess #1

Flaming mess #1

This is Flaming Mess #1.  It used to be very well organized.  That is until I went to a thrift store and found several pieces of uhm…naughty lingerie…. many months ago.  I chucked the new purchases in the washing machine followed by a good heated session in the dryer.  Then I diligently used a seam ripper to separate the lace bits from the lingerie.  Let me tell you….that is one of those hair brained ideas I get once in a while that take a long time to complete and is a bit too fiddly for my tastes.  Gathering up all the lace bits and muttering to myself “What the Heck were YOU Thinkin?” I just crammed the lace into the ribbon drawer, promptly banged the drawer shut and never opened it again.  Until yesterday that is.

Not wanting to leave the ribbon drawer in the state it is currently in any longer I went through my craft room looking for small boxes I could organize with.  Didn’t find any…..but I did find Flaming Mess #2.  Yikes!

Flaming Mess #2

Flaming Mess #2

This was like playing the block game Jenga, or the long ago game of Pick Up Sticks.  Pull on one piece and they all come crashing down.  Since all the pieces were scattered all over my work table, I sorted them into like sizes so I could get a good look at what I had to work with.

Sorting Flaming Mess #2

Sorting Flaming Mess #2

Locating the pieces that I could easily use, I went to my industrial paper trimmer and got the pieces ready to assemble into boxes.

Chipboard pieces ready to be assembled into boxes

Chipboard pieces ready to be assembled into boxes

Half of the two Flaming Messes is taken care of…..the chipboard pieces are neatly stacked in the cupboard.  The ribbon mess is still a Flaming Mess and will be until I get the boxes made.  Not sure when that will be. :/

Monday’s “Subscriber Question” is about measurements of card front pieces using an Operation Write Home sketch.  It is a tutorial on using a sketch to create a greeting card.  This birthday card to be exact.  The full video will be ready on Monday.

Using a card sketch

Using a card sketch

What “Flaming Mess” in your craft space has you derailed from a project?  Hello….am I the only person that has this problem.  Oy Vay!

Leslie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 01:28:03

    well what can i say. i often get derailed. looking for a piece of something in particular and then find i need to organize a box better so i can find what i need. i often cover boxes to store things in too. that box looked a good size. have i told you before that i use cereal boxes as a base for my photo scrapbook albums? sorry if i am repeating myself. LOL that’s my new problem. LOL. i need a room that has shelves all around the walls with my boxes on. so if i am looking for something i can see it easily. now in the real world …I haven’t. 😦 hugs to you my happy friend.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 18, 2015 @ 07:14:17

      No, Pearl, I did not know that you use cereal boxes for your scrapbook albums. That is totally COOL! Do you have a YouTube channel or a blog that I can visit to see your work?

      I had to chuckle at your lament of not having the shelving to store all of your boxes of goodies around your craft space. 😀 I have the same problem as you. 😀 LOL
      Hugs to you my “Bionic” friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Betsy Skagen
    Oct 20, 2015 @ 11:18:19

    Three words. “I can relate”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

