Creating on a budget.

The temptations are out there.  Online, in big box craft stores, YouTube videos, things you see in other people’s craft space.

Sometimes, it seems, there is just as much of a problem for “impulse shoppers” within the crafting community as is in your local grocery or convenience store.  See it and you gotta get it.  I know this only too well and have fallen prey to the temptation many times over the years I have been doing paper crafts.

Ribbon bows are not my forte.  I can tie the bows but they look like I enlisted the aid of a three year old.  Wonky, squished, disproportionate, and just plain sad looking.  My bows always need help.

A couple years ago I wandered the aisles of my local craft/hobby store, Hobby Lobby, and saw a template to make paper bows.  At nearly $5 I thought it would be a great deal.  The template has various sizes and types of bows that can be made so it seemed economical.  I got it home and quickly made a paper bow using the template.  Even the template was no insurance against the three year old bow maker.  :/

The template was chucked into a storage device and forgotten about.  Then I watched a video showcasing the new “Envelope Punch Board”.  The bow that came from the punch board was every bit as good as the one I made using the template.  Albeit done by someone that knew how to work with the paper to make it look like a bow and not some mangled thing.

While making my Christmas gift tags I took that template back out and gave it one more try.

Bow making template

Bow making template

Hello my new little friend!  At the cost of $5 I can make about five different styles of bows.  The $20 Envelope Punch Board can make one style.

The template takes longer than the Punch Board.  You have to trace around the stencil item, cut it out, fuss around with it, and then get  your bow made.  The Punch Board has no messing about.  Stick the paper in an area and punch, turn and punch, move and punch.  Just that fast, lickety split, you are ready to fold and create the bow.

Sorry, I don’t have any photos of the Bow Punch Board for your comparison.  Here is a link to a blog post featuring this tool – Envelope Punch Board.

You decide which you would like to have in your craft space.  I have a video showing how I used the template to make the bows on the Christmas gift tags.

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 21:05:07

    well there is a BIG difference in the price so I vote for the stencil . and as you say the envelope punch board only makes 1 bow. it didn’t take you long and the bow looks great. good job. hugs to you my happy friend.xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 17, 2015 @ 07:09:48

      Yes, a vast difference in price Bionic friend. Plus the bonus is (as I continue bashing a product I know nothing about) the template stores away so well it gets lost in my paper stash and the various punch boards are not so invisible. Have a wonderful weekend my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

