Turn a mini album tag into a Christmas card

Through September and on into October I have been creating videos on how to make mini album tags for the newest batch of creative people coming in.  I used to be one of them.  Searching for answers to my burning questions and not finding much in the way of an answer.

As in life, one thing leads to another.  For new card makers that don’t have a lick of interest in ever making mini albums, but need to be inspired to create a greeting card, I thought it would be good to show how a mini album tag can be made into a card front.

I chose to use one of the Measured and Layered tags with a pocket as my inspiration for the card front.

This tag is my inspiration

This tag is my inspiration

I have some old….circa 2009….Stampin’ Up! stamp sets which are Christmas themed.  Serene Snowflakes, Delightful Decorations, and Big on Christmas.  These are no longer available at Stampin’ Up! but if you have them in your stash of stamps you can give this a try.

Old Stampin' Up! stamp sets

Old Stampin’ Up! stamp sets

This is what I came up with using the mini album tag format and converting it into a Christmas card with a little gift of tags tucked into the front pocket.

Mini album tag converted into Christmas card

Mini album tag converted into Christmas card

I will have the tutorial on making these cards up on YouTube Friday – October 9, 2015.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 01:37:23

    very nice idea.xx

    Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Oct 11, 2015 @ 18:54:23

    That’s a neat trick, Leslie! It not only looks great, but it’s unique!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 13, 2015 @ 07:25:38

      Thank you, Jack, for your comment on my Christmas card. One of my YouTube subscribers had a great idea….the pocket can hold a gift card instead of the ornament gift tags. I appreciate you leaving your comment here.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

