Winter is looming.

I am seeing a lot of crafting people posting YouTube videos with all manner of Christmas themed items.  Some of them have been dedicated to this effort for well over a month.

Boxes, cards, gift certificate envelopes, gift card creations to name a few.  The Christmas Spirit is alive and well over on YouTube and it is coming from Australia, New Zealand, Norway, and here in the US.

The weather here in Oklahoma has cooled to overnight highs of 45 to 48 degrees Fahrenheit and warming up to 75 to 78 during the daytime.  Leaves are falling from the giant tree in our yard.  Windows and doors are open to let in the crisp fresh air.  I love early Spring and early Fall for the mild temperatures and the cool weather.

Many years ago I watched a YouTube video, I don’t remember who created it.  The person used Glossy Accents to create an icicle effect on a card front.  I am trying to get into the spirit of this upcoming season and am experimenting in my craft room.

I have an embossing folder from Stampin’ Up! – purchased many years ago – which features snowflakes.

Snowflake embossing folder

Snowflake embossing folder

With this embossing folder and my Original Sizzix machine….frankly I can’t get to the closet where my Big Shot is due to the log jam of boxes and bins on the floor that I have been using recently.

In my stash of several years, I have a bottle of “Water Effects” that is sold at hobby stores catering to the model railroad enthusiasts.  This product is used to make the lakes, rivers, streams, and waterfalls on dioramas featuring little towns and wooded areas for the model trains.  It comes with a hefty price of $16.99 for an 8 ounce bottle.

Water Effects

Water Effects

Okay, now for the big news.  Get a hold of your seat so you don’t go crashing to the floor as you faint.  I’ve used GLITTER!  The photo below is after 48 hours of the Water Effects drying.

Water Effects and glitter to make icicles

Water Effects and glitter to make icicles

I decided to give my Glossy Accents a try at the icicle business.  Once again, hold on tight.  There is GLITTER used.

Glossy Accents with glitter to make icicles

Glossy Accents with glitter to make icicles

The Glossy Accents has not had time to dry.  It will be clear when it finally dries.

What I’m going to do with these?  I don’t have any idea.  I am in the experimental stage right now.  In fact, I am in the “Mojo has left the building” stage and I’m trying to get it enticed to come back.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 15:26:58

    While I am not looking forward to winter weather, I am super excited for Christmas. We like to bake, enjoy a whole month of beauty at church with pointsettias and wreaths at the end of the pews, and presents! Will you be able to see those cuties in Cali?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 05, 2015 @ 07:40:39

      When my kids were young and in school I would do the whole cookie baking and decorating thing with them. I got them all involved in making their very own Gingerbread Houses one year. I made the dough and cut the houses to each child’s specifications and baked it all up. The house smelled so good! When it came time to decorate the houses with candy…well let’s just say the houses were festooned with the candies the kids did NOT like 😀 Once in a while one of them will remind me of that time and tell me how much fun they had. As to the question of seeing those adorable grand babies for Christmas….I have no idea. I would love to spend time with them and their parents. There is still time to make our plans for the holidays. So much travel is involved but it will be worth it.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. pearl Hudson
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 22:44:14

    One day i hope to experience a winter Christmas. Here in Australia we usually have seafood or cold chicken and salads as it is so so hot. Just so different to yours. There are however some people who cook the hot meals still. Where we live it is semi tropical so we have the humidity as well so one year I made an ice cream Christmas cake. It was very well enjoyed. Love that you are experimenting with the glitter. I like the glossy accents look. hugs to you Leslie.xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 05, 2015 @ 07:47:34

      I forgot you live in the “Land Down Under” where the seasons are backwards. Our summers here that are scorching hot you are in the throws of winter and cold. The first year I moved to Arizona….way back in 1974…..the first Christmas there was a real bummer. It was warm and no snow. Felt like the kids were off for Easter vacation not Christmas. Lighted streets, houses, and trees were so weird. Palm trees were lit with the tree lights. I thought I had been dropped into a different world. It is odd to think of sunbathers at Christmas time but that is your reality 😀 Hmmmm, wonder how Santa does in that heat with his sleigh and heavy winter wear. Wonder if he stops to change into shorts and sandals 😀
      Hugs to you my Bionic Friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Pati
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 05:51:23

    Awesome sis!! Glitter????? I cannot believe what I am reading lol lol !!! Your work looks beautiful!! Keep it up!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!! You go gal!! 😃❤️ so glad to be drawing you over to my glitter side lol lol

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 05, 2015 @ 07:50:20

      I figured you would be excited for this. Glitter! Too funny. If you think the glitter is something to get excited about….just wait. I’m even venturing into the world of flowers AND glitter. Oh my, I think the world has tipped onto its head!
      Love you Sis

      Reply

Leave a Reply

