Pockets and Tags for Mini Albums

If a beginning crafter does an Internet search for “How to make mini album pockets” or “How to make mini album tags” most of the time the results are completed mini albums with the creator showing what the finished project looks like.  If a beginning crafter searches YouTube with the same queries the results are a video ranging in length from 5 minutes to over 25 minutes showing a completed project with the creator telling me “Here is the pocket I made” and “Here is the tag I made”.

When I started making scrapbook layouts and then ventured into mini albums I was continually frustrated with finding there was not one single video, or blog post, that showed the process of making a pocket or a tag.

I have taken it upon myself to be the one that shows all the steps necessary to create these things.  At the bottom of this post I will include my YouTube videos that show how to make pockets and tag inserts.

The tags, just in case you are wondering, are elements to the mini album that can be pulled out from the place they reside.  Photos and journaling  are added to the tags to tell a story…the story that is being told through the photos.  A trip to DisneyWorld, or DisneyLand.  High school prom or graduation.  A wedding or engagement.  Pregnancy or the birth of a new baby.

Gusseted Pockets

Gusseted Pockets

 

4 Pocket Insert

4 Pocket Insert

 

Mini Album tags

Mini Album tags

Next week I will be making tags for a mini album that seem to have “Advanced” skills required but they are things a beginning crafter can make easily.  I am trying to take the mystery out of being creative when it comes to designing a mini album to enjoy yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Leslie

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Sep 20, 2015 @ 08:35:34

    Leslie, your house must be a hodgepodge of crafts dispersed throughout your living area. I’ve wanted to make crafts like the one you make as a means to keep my mind active. Yeah, I hear ya, “Writing isn’t enough, Jack?” Well, it’s enough, but I need something to do with my hands other than to type a long-winded description of a zombie kill! lol Nonetheless, I love your crafts and they’re really inspiring me to pick up the habit myself!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 27, 2015 @ 21:41:23

      Thank you, Jack. I appreciate your high praise of my creative endeavors. Please forgive the tardiness of my response to your very kind comment.

      A word of caution, should you venture into the realm of paper crafting. It is highly addictive. I do have my craft items located in one room of the house…..that is until I do a full clear out 😀

      It would be very good to have another mail crafts person in our midst. You have mentioned your wife is quite adept at this sort of thing so she would be a valuable source of information and guidance. However, I don’t quite know how you would explain to your publisher the reason for your manuscript being so late is because you were making a mini album 😀
      That would he a HOOT!

      Thank you, again, Jack.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Betsy Skagen
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 14:44:22

    Cute! Cute! Cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

