Scrapbook Layout – Library Pocket Tag

Library pocket tags for journal spots on layouts

Library pocket tags for journal spots on layouts

My twin granddaughters turned one in June, 2015.  They are so cute.

My twin granddaughters

My twin granddaughters

When my daughter was pregnant with them she would tell me, during phone conversations, how much she was looking forward to them being born.  She was so excited to be a Mom.  She read books about child birth and child rearing.  She read everything she could get her hands on preparing to become the best mother she could be.

When these precious girls were just a couple days old I told Carissa, “Now it will be milestones”.  She looked at me like I had started speaking in an unfamiliar language.

You will, I told her, think you had passed out from total sleep deprivation and didn’t hear their cries the first night they sleep more than two hours between feedings.  Fear will grip your heart and panic will set in.  NORMAL.

The next milestone will be when the babies try to hold a hand still before their eyes so they can see this marvel of human construction.  They will, often, hit and punch themselves as they inspect this odd thing.

The next milestone will be when the babies learn how to hold their heavy little heads up while on their tummies.  The weight of their heads on the weak neck muscles will cause them to bang their little noses and faces on your shoulder bones, the floor, or whatever surface they are laying on.

The next milestone will be when they roll over on their own.  I told her “You will be giddy with excitement when you see this for the first time”.  This, I told her, is the harbinger of doom to you as a Mother.  Carissa whipped her head around and looked at me as if I had suddenly become some kind of demon.  “Why do you say that?!” she asked in a voice tinged with anger.

Because, my love, it won’t be long before they begin crawling and getting into everything.  You won’t believe how fast those little tiny bodies can move.  When they begin crawling your vocabulary as an adult woman will consist of one word.  “NO!”

The next milestone will be when they begin to pull themselves up to a standing position using furniture to steady them.  Oh boy.  Being higher off the ground will mean they have access to everything within their reach.  Exploration of their world really begins.  Your vocabulary will change a little bit.  It will become “No, no, NO!” instead of just the single “NO!”.

I then told Carissa what she needed to pay attention to was “Total Silence”.  That will NOT be good.  She laughed at me.  She actually had a belly laugh at that.  Hmmm, we’ll see.

So, at this time I am creating a scrapbook layout titled “Mischief”.  I have a video showing you how to make Library Card Pocket tags.  This is so easy to do.  You don’t need a template.  You don’t need to download a PDF to cut out a template.  You don’t need specialty tools.  You only need a pencil, ruler, scissors, adhesive, and paper.

So here is the tutorial on making the Library Card Pocket tag and the tag insert for journaling.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pearl Hudson
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 14:57:10

    ha ha. what a true account of motherhood this is Leslie. and what a good idea for your layout. i bet there have been many many “milestone” moments in their first year to smile about. best wishes.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 04, 2015 @ 07:01:38

      Thank you, Pearl Hudson, for stopping by my blog. I feel like we have become next door neighbors chatting over the fence or at your table with a cup of coffee :D. I have enjoyed getting to know you better through our little back and forth comments on YouTube and Google+ 😀

      I don’t know how much my daughter is smiling over the antics of her little girls….but I sure have a goofy grin on my face as I remember her at that age 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 19:51:17

    Wow, twin granddaughters. I’m not sure what to say here. You’re certainly going to have your hand full babysitting! 🙂 No worries, though. A close relative of mine has twin daughters and although it’s a challenge at times, they wouldn’t trade the experience in for the world. Thanks for sharing, Leslie!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 04, 2015 @ 07:09:26

      Oh to be able to babysit those little precious girls. I live about 1400 miles away from them and only get to see them once in a while. My daughter sends me tons of photos and sends me short videos of the girls as they achieve their milestones. We talk on the phone daily and I get updates on all the cuteness….and the not so cute-ness 😀

      Want to know something funny? Well, even if you don’t you get to anyway 😀 Each of the girls has one of my daughter’s traits. One climbs on top of things and stands tall, giving her mother a fright each time. The other rocks back and forth on her hands and knees trying to soothe herself before falling asleep. I had to deal with that in one little body, she has TWO little bodies to worry over 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

