Freak Show! Crazy flower from fake leaves.

Crazy flower made from fake flower leaves

Crazy flower made from fake flower leaves

My last video tutorial in the series of “Heat Embossing Techniques” features using the leaves from fake flower bouquets.  I have created a flower that, most likely, is NOT “Mother Nature” approved.  😀

A freaky hybridized flower that no botanist would even consider a worthy species to replicate.

Species?  I’m not even sure what the classification would be for flowers.  Maybe genus?

Whatever the technical name for a flower classification is, I’m positive my featured flower would not be in any of either classification.  😀

Hey, I’m trying to show how you can repurpose things that would normally be tossed in the trash.  “Use what you have”.

I used VersaMark Embossing Ink on the green leaves and on some of the red leaves.  To get things moving along quicker, I used Glycerine painted on with a brush for a large portion of the red leaves.

Putting the thing together was accomplished with my most HATED tool in my craft room.  The Hot Glue Gun.  I HATE that thing!  Burns, hot glue strings like spider webs, blobs of glue dripping out everywhere.  That tool, I just don’t see why so many people use that confounded contraption in their craft spaces.  :/

You have about 20 minutes?  You can watch the video below on how I created this Freak Show.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pati
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 07:05:31

    😃 I disagree sis lol it’s a ( flower)!! It’s beautiful!! Course it could be any color, but it’s still pretty!!😃❤️ you did a good job on it!!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:20:12

    I like it! To me it feels like retro pointsettia.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 14:23:39

      Thanks Jen. After you mentioned the Christmas flower then I could see it. You made me feel better after knowing that I did create a flower approved by Mother Nature 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Jack Flacco
    Aug 27, 2015 @ 19:48:52

    I think the flower is called a poinsettia. This looks like a great craft for Christmas decorations. I know we have a lot of these flowers all over the place during the holiday season!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 29, 2015 @ 14:39:37

      Thank you, thank you, thank you, Jack. You have totally made my day! Now that you mention it, I do see the resemblance to a poinsettia in that crazy flower I made. I’ll not hide my head in shame any longer 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

