Heat embossing with stencils and templates.

I will have six videos up on my YouTube channel today.  Yes, I said 6!

In my small attempt at getting others to look into the depths of their hoard of paper, tools, and products I dug through my stash of brass, plastic, and decorative stencils.  Over the years I have accumulated quite a number of items that have been shoved into the deep dark cupboards in my craft room.

Each stencil I use in this quasi-educational series was, once upon a time, chosen because of its supreme beauty.

Being the type of person that I am….having the attention span of a gnat….the spell wore off shortly after I got that most prized piece home.  Doubts and fears overcame my adventurous side.  What am I ever going to do with THAT?  The end result was nearly forever darkness.

Time to do a “Haul”.  Get in my cupboards, bins, boxes, and drawers and “Haul” out all of my stencils and templates.  In my zeal to be a good teacher and inspiration I did a few things that will become a “cautionary tale” of what NOT TO DO and if you DID DO IT then what the remedy is.

I have a, newly acquired, brass butterfly stencil that I nearly ruined by my genius.  I thought it would be prudent to tape the stencil on a piece of paper and use several colors of embossing powder at one go.  Uhm, err, ahem….DON’T DO IT.  And if YOU DO here is what to do when you have a massive fail.

Rubbing Alcohol, or Surgical Spirits for those of you in Europe, is your friend.

Rubbing Alcohol or Surgical Sprits is your friend

Rubbing Alcohol or Surgical Spirits is your friend

Place the stencil in a vessel of your choosing.  Cover the botched beauty with rubbing alcohol or surgical spirits and leave to soak for 24 hours.  Trust me….this will do wonders to your stencil and your spirits.

The paper I had the stencil attached to did not release when I pried it up off the paper.  It was stuck on there good and tight.

Paper stuck on the back of the stencil

Paper stuck on the back of the stencil

After soaking for 24 hours in the rubbing alcohol, the paper easily came away from the brass.  No scrubbing, no digging, no damage to the stencil.

After a 24  hour soak the paper released easily

After a 24 hour soak the paper released easily

You can see the entire fail in this photo.  You will also see that the stencil was not damaged.

The mighty fail

The mighty fail

The heated embossing powder comes loose with a bit of scratching with your finger nail.  No other tools required to remove the stuck on mess.

Just like new

Just like new

 

To get you started….here is my “Haul” video 😀

Leslie

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Aug 19, 2015 @ 10:29:10

    Drain covers Brilliant !! I have some brass ornaments and a thin metal trivet I ran them through the big shot for texture but I think they can be used with your techniques. I will let you know how they worked.
    Now off to you tube to see the fab 6 you’ve uploaded.
    Hugs

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 20, 2015 @ 08:05:14

      Hey, now that is a really great idea. Using brass Christmas ornaments through the Big Shot for texture. You are quite the genius. I would have never thought of THAT!
      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Aug 20, 2015 @ 18:02:54

    Wow, this looks great! Your originality never ceases to amaze me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

