Do I Need To Buy A Cricut?

Tell me the truth now.  Have you ever watched a craft related YouTube video and was overcome with a welling in your soul so great you heard the angels singing?  Maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration…..but you may know what I mean.

In that brief and excited moment your brain goes from 0 to 120 mph.  Flashes of creative genius stumble all over themselves, like a mass exodus from a burning building.  Your heart beats faster.  A welling in your core grows to such a point you feel sure there will be an explosion of stars and glitter bursting from your chest.

Your heart overrides your brain.  You have to have that gadget.  You must have it right now!

Okay, so you are not quite as crazy as I am.  Perhaps you do know of what I speak but don’t allow your heart to rule your world.

When I first dipped my toe into the world of paper crafting I watched so many YouTube videos on every paper craft subject there was available at that time.  This was back in 2005 when the video channel was in its infancy.

At that time I didn’t have ANYTHING to be creative.  I had a few glitter gel pens of various colors.  That was all I had.  Little by little I began acquiring products and tools only to find the creative genius in me was more of a befuddled person in a straight-jacket.  The things I created were more worthy of the trash bin.

One long weekend in a hotel room in Port Wentworth, Georgia I channel surfed the television.  Bored out of my head I needed to find a distraction.  None was to be found.  That is until I saw an Infomercial on the Cricut machine.  My husband, Joe, was in the room with me.  He had to have been extremely grateful that I had finally settled on something to watch instead of the constant flitting from one channel to the next.

As the presentation unfolded before me I heard my husband say “You need one of those”.

It would be several months later and in Wichita, Kansas that I would become the owner of a Cricut machine.  During another long weekend in a hotel room far from home, Joe took me to a scrapbook store in Wichita and asked a store employee if they carried the new Cricut.

Now, nearly 10 years later, this much desired machine sits on a shelf behind closed doors in my craft room.

My Cricut machine

My Cricut machine

Fickle hearted me has gone on to other things.  A subscriber to my YouTube channel sent me an e-mail with the following question.

“A question I do have though, what do you think about those Cricut machines, are they a must have?”

In order to answer her question I thought it would be best to show her how the machine works.  I am not a professional and I won’t tell you that I know what I’m doing with the machine.  Mistakes and problems I left in the video.  I mean I have to be “Real” and not pretend to be something I’m not.

The Cricut machine has advanced over the years.  Newer models are available and do the same as my old one, even a bit more.  I offer a video for you showcasing my abundant skills in presentation :/.

Oh, one final thing.  This coming Wednesday, August 12, 2015, I will be continuing on in my Heat Embossing series.  This one features Mailing Labels.

Using mailing labels in heat embossing

Using mailing labels in heat embossing

Leslie

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 12:06:27

    As I watch your video I do have the stirring to have one of these machines thinking to myself that it makes words and phrases which I do not have with my big shot But thinking realistic how much would I use it? Now that being said if I had extra $$ and found a fantastic deal I probably would purchase one. How much would I use it I can’t say really but I have a craft corner full of good intentions. I am looking forward to my up coming time with the good thoughts that I will be busy with my stash of goodies.

    Hope you are having a great day.
    Love and Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 12, 2015 @ 07:45:45

      Hey Shelly, I hope you and Brian had an extra special date night last night. Joe got home yesterday afternoon and later took me to (us) to a nice restaurant to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. You and Brian share our Anniversary Day 😀

      I can totally relate to your concerns about purchasing a Cricut. Mine doesn’t get much of a chance to see daylight :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. csinalaska
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 16:58:05

    My hubby surprised me with the new Cricut Explorer Air (I think that’s the correct model) out of the blue the other day. He found one for 50% off and knew I was talking about getting one “some day.” I haven’t made anything yet but seriously need to figure out how to use it!!! I was going to have my own craft room but then we got custody of my hubby’s kiddos and the room dream died to make room for a new bedroom. I just have to figure out where to set-up projects now — and the dining room table seems to be the only area 😦

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 07:00:53

      I can so relate to having dashed plans :/ What little you have said about your situation, I am thinking the children will show their gratitude for a safe, loving, and stable home by opening their hearts to you and motivate you to use your new Cricut. Good luck to you and your husband as everyone settles into a new life.
      Leslie

      Reply

      • csinalaska
        Aug 20, 2015 @ 11:59:28

        Thank you Leslie, it really is a big change but worth it to know they now have more stability in their lives. I’m ashamed to say I still haven’t used it yet but I think I’m going to try and do a project this weekend 🙂

      • Message In A Fold
        Aug 20, 2015 @ 13:20:18

        Good for you. I hope you are able to have a bit of creative time. I’m sure you will garner an audience and a lot of helping hands in the process 😀
        Leslie

Leave a Reply

