Masculine cards are easier to make than you think.

Masculine birthday card.

Masculine birthday card.

This card has been made using the Operation Write Home card sketch #7.  My previous card was a feminine birthday card using the same exact sketch.

Finished birthday card front.

Finished birthday card front.

When you have an opportunity to make a masculine card, think about the rubber stamp sets, or digital images, you have that are not “Cute”.  Stamps that you would not automatically think of as “girly” or feminine.  I’m using a 2005 stamp set from Club Scrap titled “Down To Earth”.

Club Scrap 2005 stamp set "Down To Earth".

Club Scrap 2005 stamp set “Down To Earth”.

Diving into my scrap stash I went into my neutral stash of 4-1/4 x 5-1/2 box and located six pieces that are off white.  Staying within the neutral stash I located four of my 1-1/2 x 5-1/2 strips of white card stock.  My final choice from the neutral stash were six of the 2 x 2 white card stock pieces for the sentiment.

Into my neutral stash.

Into my neutral stash.

Next up was my 6 x 6 stash of printed papers.  From there I chose 3 pieces that had a honeycomb design.  These pieces are from Stampin’ Up! and were titled Botanical (something).

6 x 6 print stash

6 x 6 print stash.

My last choice was a rust color card stock from my 1-1/2 x 3 stash.

1-1/2 x 3 stash

1-1/2 x 3 stash

These are the paper choices I used on the card pictured at the top of this post.

Scrap paper choices for the masculine card.

Scrap paper choices for the masculine card.

When you are creating your cards and feel that something is just slightly amiss.  Something you just can’t quite put  your finger on.  You know you have done a great job with your creation but just a little something needs to be done.  Don’t throw it off to the side and get frustrated.

As you can see in the photo above, I don’t have a dark brown card stock showing in the mix.  That was added later.  You can see the difference in the card front below.  Just adding a 1/8 inch strip of dark brown to the top and bottom of the tag section changed the whole look of the card.

Adding a very dark strip to surround one of the focal elements help.

Adding a very dark strip to surround one of the focal elements help.

Same exact card front.  A little bit of separation from the whole is what is generally needed.

To make a masculine card, think about your digital images or stamp sets that are “organic” or have lineal movement.  Take a closer look at your background stamps that you would normally use to give your design some visual texture.  Make those stamps or digital images the focus of your design.

Leslie

 

Leave a Reply

