Old School with chalk

My computer is in the repair shop. It has been since Wednesday and I’m having withdrawals. What the heck did I do years before the advent of social media and blogs?! Sad commentary on my life right now, at this moment in time. :/

I am in the process of making some masculine birthday cards, I need one to send my son along with his clock.

So in keeping with the theme of “What did I do before…..” I am resurrecting a technique I learned back in about 2008.

I’m using my Stampin’ Pastels chalk set. These are the OLD colors and will be totally different from what is currently sold.

IMG_9684.JPG

The colors I have used are Bravo Burgandy, Really Rust, Creamy Caramel, Close To Cocoa, and Chocolate Chip on the card front base. The stamped images are from Club Scrap’s April 2005 rubber stamp collection for “Down To Earth”.

IMG_9683.JPG

IMG_9685.JPG

Smear the chalk in the manner you like. Once you are satisfied with the depth of color on your project…..then erase strategic areas. Honestly. Place a ruler in a desired location. Follow the ruler line with a pencil eraser.

To set the chalk, and keep it from smearing or rubbing off, you will need to have a can of Aerosol hair spray or an art Fixative. I’m using my Krylon Fixative. This can has been in my stash since 1998, I kid you not. It now is nearly empty.

IMG_9686.JPG

I’m getting out of here before this crazy WordPress app on my phone crashes once more before I get this post published.

Leslie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 13:02:13

    So sad your computer is in need of repairs 😦 Being without a computer is like having a limb severed πŸ™‚ Well done on using older products, it is good to revisit old techniques and products πŸ™‚
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

