Assembly line style card making…..

Sometimes….I get an idea.  That idea doesn’t get properly thought out.  Bringing that idea into reality…..turns into…..”What The Heck Was I Thinking?!

I looked through the Operation Write Home card sketches.  My search was to find a sketch that has many elements, therefore, I would be using up more scrap papers.  Brilliant!

I chose card sketch #10 from Operation Write Home.

Operation Write Home card sketch #10

Operation Write Home card sketch #10.

The stamp set I chose to use for some birthday cards is an old Stampin’ Up! Hostess Set titled “Birthday Bakery”.

Stampin' Up! Birthday Bakery stamp set.

Stampin’ Up! Birthday Bakery stamp set.

I have a tag punch I bought from Stampin’ Up! in about 2009.  This is the old style punch.  I’m pretty sure they don’t sell this style any longer.  The tag measures a tiny bit over one inch wide and is 1-1/4 inches long.

Old style tag punch from Stampin' Up!

Old style tag punch from Stampin’ Up!.

I’m busting out my Copic markers that were a gift to me from my friend, Maureen C. Mathis, several years ago.  I’ve not really used these markers to color many images.  It is time that I face me fear of coloring and just get with the program.

Copic markers.

Copic markers.

I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of using these markers.  I was even pleased with my results.  The images look like illustrations that would be in a children’s book.  Okay, maybe that is just a bit of an exaggeration of my coloring skills.

Copic marker colored images

Copic marker colored images

This is where I thought I had “Done gone and lost my mind”.  I did something that I absolutely, positively, beyond a shadow of a doubt, HATE to do.  I fussy cut around every stinkin’ one of those images.

Fussy cut around each image.

Fussy cut around each image.

The results of this crazy bit of business has turned out pretty good.  I like the result.  And I do believe that I may have earned a new title.  “The Queen of Crooked”!  Oh well.  Let’s just call it “Whimsical”.

Finished birthday card front.

Finished birthday card front.

Over the next couple days I will be putting together a tutorial on how I made this card front.  I’ve taken step by step photos of the process and will be using those photos to create a video.

At this rate….I think it might be the year 2025 when I use up all of my scrap papers.  :/

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 21:59:22

    This looks great. I always wondered if there were ever such a thing as assembly craft creation. You’ve proven there is! Thx!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 12:58:39

    I do whimsical all the time as I can’t do straight 😀 Use the scrap paper up by making lots of hinged lid boxes for giving as gifts, covering the boxes uses lots of paper 🙂 Fabby cards 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

