How to make someone think you are not a failure at math.

This time, my blog post title is true.  All of it.  I am a failure at math.  I can add, subtract, multiple, and divide.  Enough that it gets me by in my everyday work life and is a necessary element in my bookkeeping.  My main problem with math…..the person(s) who deemed it essential to add letters in the mix, Algebra and the  higher maths like Calculus, need to have a good throttling.

I never could wrap my brain around Algebra.  Never could, and still can’t.

Okay, enough of this introduction into today’s post.

I have a son who is a Mechanical Engineer.  He was heavily dosed with my husband’s genes in the brain department.  As a matter of fact, my husband’s two daughters were blessed with that overdose of their Dad’s genes as well.

My son’s birthday is the end of February.  I have been wracking my brain trying to think of something unique to make for his birthday present.  I’ve made him journals, or Field Note type books, he can have close to him when he gets an idea for his work.  I spent the better part of two hours searching Pinterest for a project that would be different, as well as useful.

When I found the project I wanted to undertake….my brain went on vacation.  I have no Before picture of the clock.  Sorry about that.  I will be editing a video, later today, that will show the process I went through.

My altered clock project

My altered clock project

When I showed Joe my project idea and asked him if it would be an appropriate gift….I just wish I had taken a photo of his face.  His eyes lit up.  His immediate exclamation was “I want one”!  So I have the Seal of Approval from my math genius at home.

I must insist that you “Pinky Swear” to me you won’t tell my son the clock was a yard sale find for 50 cents.

You can see the original clock face in the photo below.  It is to the right of the finished clock.

Original clock face next to the altered clock.

Original clock face next to the altered clock.

I used the old clock face as a template on a piece of 65 pound textured card stock from Recollections, a Michaels brand.  I used the 5 minute increments on the clock face for the  marker spots on the card stock for proper alignment of the new numbers.

Creating the clock face.

Creating the clock face.

I took the above photo and texted it to Joe for his thoughts on the placement.  His only complaint was that the “2 O’Clock” set of numbers was spaced too far down from the “1 O’Clock” position.  I had to take a photo of the hour hand placed on the design and lined up with the 2 O’Clock position to show him that it was in the designated space.

Positioning of the time elements.

Positioning of the time elements.

When I had the clock completed I sent another photo, by text, to Joe for his final approval.  I got to spend the next half hour while he did some of the calculations shown on the clock face to make sure the math was correct.  😀

He was pretty sure the 8 O’Clock position equation was incorrect.  My heart sunk to my feet when he told me that.  You see…I have no idea what any of these equations really mean, save for the square root of 81 is 9.  I do know that much.  Oh, and I also know that 305 minus 303 does equal 2.  That one was the simplest of the whole lot.  Now as for the 6 O’Clock position….Joe doesn’t even know what the exclamation point is used for in math.  HAH!  Stumped him.  So I don’t feel so bad.  Oh, and Joe did do the calculation for the 8 O’Clock position and deemed it correct.

My number sizing is off and they don’t all match in height.  But, by and large, all the numbers are on an equal spacing except for the 5 and 7 O’Clock markers.    What do you expect.  This is hand made by a NON math genius.

When I publish this post, generally the last photo of the post is what is seen on Facebook.  My son sometimes hangs out at that social media site.  I don’t want to spoil this for him so I will end this post with a quote from Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson.  Please excuse the profanity.  But let me tell you….I think I did “Kick that door in and Introduce Myself”.  😀

Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson quote.

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson quote.

Leslie

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 10:39:54

    Great gift! But your final pic might be interesting enough to encourage him to click on the link. You should have made it an ad for a feminine wash! Ain’t NO WAY he would have clicked on THAT one!

    Reply

  2. jesskawrites
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 11:38:06

    Cool clock!

    In case you ever need to show off;
    “!” just means ‘plus all the smaller numbers until you get down to one’.
    In this case: 3+2+1 which is 6, and hence 6 o’clock. (5! would be 5+4+3+2+1 = 15)

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 12:20:04

    I am exactly the same as you in the maths department Leslie 🙂 I, too, didn’t know what the “!” meant in an equation so am very grateful to Jesskawrites for the explanation.
    Love the clock, brilliant idea 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 16, 2015 @ 08:06:18

      Thank you, Lynn. This clock project has been “timely” and enlightening. 😀

      This project could be one for you to try. Just imagine all the birds you could stamp. 😀
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Jack Flacco
    Jan 15, 2015 @ 22:37:26

    What an interesting concept for a clock. Now if I can only figure out how it works–or at least understand it more, then I’d be smarter than I was before reading this!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 16, 2015 @ 08:09:28

      Thank you, Jack, for your cheeky comment. 😀 I’m with you in the not understanding the math. I’m trusting the original person who made it to be correct. What do I know, anyway?
      Leslie

      Reply

  5. Betsy Skagen
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 12:54:02

    bahaha, Every time I have a craft project that requires detailed engineering, e.g. how to cut 16 1/8″ evenly spaced spokes from a ribbon wheel, I have to call in my husband.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

