A woman got busted over a birthday card.

How’s that for an ambiguous title?  The truth of the matter is that I did get busted.  My daughter saw it on Facebook.  :/

Stampin' Up!'s Big Bold Birthday stamp set used to create the balloons.

Stampin’ Up!’s Big Bold Birthday stamp set used to create the balloons.

The card front was created using papers from my scrap stash.  I tried a technique, new to me and quite possibly not something done by anyone else.  Then again, this technique is probably old and I’m just the last to know.

I picked out 2 x 2 inch patterned paper scraps, used various colors of inks, stamped the balloon image on the patterned paper then used Glossy Accents to cover the stamped image.  I taped the papers down to my table using painters tape before I applied the Glossy Accents.  You can see the entire process in the video I have below.

I used some, many years old, baby yarn to act as the balloon streamers.  The balloons are hot glued to the card front and the balloon tails are secured under the ribbon I’ve placed near the bottom.  This musical note ribbon is about eight years old.  I can’t read music so I have no idea if this is for a country western song, pop music, or classical notes.  Since I have no idea then I will ignorantly pretend it is the Happy Birthday song.  😀

I was quite happy that the outcome of my experiment was successful.  Most experiments are anything but successful.  The patterned papers show up very nicely under the ink and glue.

Patterned papers show very well under the ink and glue.

Patterned papers show very well under the ink and glue.

The cupcake is also from the Big Bold Birthday stamp set.  I used Close To  Cocoa on the cake part of the image.  I have no idea if this is still a color in the Stampin’ Up! family.  The top of the cupcake I used Pixie Pink ink.  The topper is another patterned paper scrap from my stash.  I was attempting to make it look like a “Sprinkle” festooned frosted cupcake.  I used Spiced Marmalade Stickles from Ranger Industries, a Studio G green and blue glitter glue, and a Liquid Pearls in Hydrangea on the flower centers.

Big Bold Birthday cupcake stamp

Big Bold Birthday cupcake stamp

The last bit of this card is a bow.  I’ve watched many videos on YouTube about tying small bows.  A dinner fork was used to make that cute little bow.

A fork was used to tie the bow.

A fork was used to tie the bow.

You can watch the condensed version of making this card in the video below.  I chose, for time sake, to only use the segments that highlighted the process of making the main features of the card.

 

I hope you have found something of interest in my video and give some of these techniques a try.

Leslie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carissa
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 11:08:13

    Wow mom!! After hearing how you made it, this card is incredible!!! My favorite part so far is the balloons. Can’t wait to get it!!! Thank you for making this for my Birthday!!! Love you. ❤

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2015 @ 11:28:35

      Thank you my sweet. You told me not to put the card up on Facebook…..so what do I do…..put it up on Facebook. :/ I’m so glad you are not mad at me. What can I say? I’m old….and forgetful…and old. 😀 Will that excuse work?

      I love you my Punkin.
      Mom

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 21:10:04

    I love all the creative things you do with the supplies you have at hand! And your videos are real keepers, for sure!

    Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 17:52:05

    Such a fun card.
    I forget to post my projects on my FB page…I am not very good at networking, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

