Does old really mean obsolete?

The paper crafting industry is making changes in tools so fast that I can’t keep up with it all.

As I had stated in my Happy New Year post, I will be using my old tools and supplies in my creative endeavors.  One of the “Old” tools I am using is the Thumb Style paper punch that is a corner rounder.

I had a comment a few weeks back from a reader that had found one of my older posts.  “A Crime Scene birthday card”.  The comment was as follows.

  • You. Saved. My. Life. I’ve been wasting so much expensive paper. Wasting it on a blunt hobby knives not being able to cut my tabs the way I wanted them! I bumped into your site while googling for a new corner punch.. only to find out I could just take the paper guide off! Hoping this works for mine too. Thanks so much! My tabs will me awesome!

I have created a video to show you  how to use the OLD style of corner punch to create rounded corners on a tab feature.  With the increase in attention to day planners and making tabs for your information in the planner, or making tabbed pieces while creating a mini album, or just for making your own greeting card that would be in the shape of a file folder, this old style punch will come in handy for you.

Now, if you own the newer style of hand punches….I am of no use to you.  Sorry. :/

For those of you that have not moved up into the current age, or have held tightly to your older tools, and have a need for making tabs then I hope you find this video helpful.

Leslie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 12:40:11

    I have kept all of my tools so I have a mix old and new. The crazy thing is the old comes back around to be the “new” new just fashioned a bit different. Another use for this little punch (and the large corner rounder too) is to make a scalloped edge just search youtube . This is a fantastic series because some old and new crafters can use this idea. Thanks for the great reminders 🙂
    Love ya
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 08, 2015 @ 16:44:07

      Thank you, Shelly. I have a few of the newer style punches but my main stash is of the old variety. Thanks for the tip on using the corner punch to make scallops. I’ll have to check that out.

      I see you have a new post up on your blog. I’m heading over there now.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 00:20:39

    Can you use it to make notches along the edge of a rectangular piece of cardstock that would fit a gift card? You could then adhere it to the inside of a card base maybe. I got rid of my punch like this, because the collar piece kept coming off, so I thought it was broken! What a dummy!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2015 @ 07:09:50

      Hey Maureen, nice to see you visit. In answer to your question about the corner rounder the answer is “no”. There is a punch that does the slit to make a place for business card corners or photos. The corner rounder only makes corners round. I’m sorry that you had a punch that liked being undressed all the time and you thought it was broken. 😀 There must have been something faulty with the punch for it to do that in the first place.

      I hope you and your family are all well.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

    • aspot2stamp
      Jan 12, 2015 @ 09:28:38

      Hi Maureen the punch you mention to make notches called a slit punch. Stampin up had one years ago but I’m not sure if other companies had one or not. Some of the decorative corner punches which were all the rage ages ago were nice for making a gift card holders. Just an idea if you had any of those hanging around.
      Hugs
      Shelly

      Reply

Leave a Reply

