Welcome, little ones, to our world.

I’m in the process of using one of my old, and nearly tossed in the trash, scrapbook layout pages from way back in 2009.

One of the old forgotten layouts

One of the old forgotten layouts

This 2-Page layout will be about all of the family and friends that came by to welcome our new grand daughters into the world.  Some were anxiously waiting their arrival at the hospital while others came to the house after the girls had a chance to settle in.

Working on the layout

Working on the layout

Long forgotten stencils were used to create the matted tags that designate each of the pockets.  This stencil doesn’t have a name showing the manufacturer or even what the font is.  I’ve had this stencil since about 2007.  For all these years it, along with the rest of my stencils, has been in a three ring binder and hidden away in a cupboard.

Alpha stencil

Alpha stencil

I penciled a line 2 inches from the top of the card stock for the first line.  Then I penciled in a line 2 inches further down the card stock for each succeeding tag title piece….thing-a-ma-bob, doo hickey, whach-a-ma-call-it.

Creating the tags

Creating the tags

Using my Stampin’ Up! markers I chose colors that would be sort of in the color range of these old papers.  None of these papers are from Stampin’ Up! so there was no hope of getting actual coordinating color for the tags.  Just a touch close is all that was necessary.

Coloring the tags

Coloring the tags

Another stencil I have from Club Scrap was used on the pockets.  I also have a stencil for the Library Card pocket.

Library card pocket from a stencil

Library card pocket from a stencil

I used my Stampin’ Up! markers in colors sort of (maybe not so much) close to the colors of the card stock mats to trace the stencil.

Once I get a full set of layouts completed on the birth of my grand daughters it will be easy to duplicate another set.  I have enough of the blank layouts that are getting new life breathed into them, as well as photos.  It is my intention to make a scrapbook album for each of my precious little grand daughters to look through when they get older.  We grand parents may no longer be alive by that time so they will get to see who these people were that loved on them when they were newborn babes.

I hope I have inspired you to create a layout or two for your scrapbooks.  If anyone has questions on how to make layout bases ahead of time leave your question in the comment section below.  I would be happy to answer your questions.

Leslie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 14:01:13

    Lovely to hear that you are being inspired by old layouts to rejuvenate them for the little girls. Scrapbooking is not something that gets my mojo going at all but it floats your boat and enables you to do some crafting again which is the important thing 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 22, 2014 @ 08:20:44

      Thank you, Lynn, for leaving your comment. I know you are not the least bit interested in scrapbooking but I’m very glad that you are my friend. That is what “floats my boat” :D.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 10:37:11

    The colors are fabulous, and perfect for this harvest season!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 22, 2014 @ 08:19:34

      Hello Jack Flacco. I’ve stopped by your blog and enjoyed your posts but have not taken the time to let you know I have been there :/. Sorry about that. Thank you for being the better person here :D. I appreciate you.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

