Time to get some baby photos on layouts!

Poor sleep deprived new Mom and Dad

Poor sleep deprived new Mom and Dad

Get your seat belt tightened.  We’re taking a trip in the “Way Back Machine” to 2009.  That is how long this bare layout has been relegated to a dark hole.

The original layout design

The original layout design

I hope that wasn’t too bumpy of  a ride, and your hair didn’t end up standing on end 😀

My first attempts at making scrapbook layouts was pretty bad.  Mostly because I didn’t know what I was doing and I had no one but myself to teach me how to do it.  (You know the old adage about being your own lawyer – having a fool for a client?  Well this saying fits here as well).

I just remembered I have a video from 2009 showing my “skills” :/.  The lighting is bad because I didn’t know anything about taking videos for YouTube.  (Guess you can say that I don’t know much of anything).

Over the winter of 2009 I did some research, if you can call it that, about making scrapbook layouts that look good and have a design quality to them.  I found Club Scrap and their “Assembly Line Scrapbooking”. The term is Trade Marked.  There are pictures of layouts complete with PDF’s of the cutting directions for their paper in each kit they sell.  Check out the different layouts and directions.  You will find a listing of all the items you will need to make one of their layouts.  These include:  Card stock, text weight paper, design paper and/or card stock, along with detailed diagrams and cutting directions to put together a similar layout.

So, armed with this knowledge and being totally stoked and excited…..I went crazy.  I have about 30, 2-Page, layouts just waiting in a few plastic sleeves.  I didn’t have any of the Club Scrap paper at the time so I used what I had on hand.  I’ll show you just a few of them.

Layout style 1

Layout style 1

Layout style 2

Layout style 2

Layout style 3

Layout style 3

Layout style 4

Layout style 4

The papers are all wrong, as far as weight goes.  I have very thin card stock as the base of some of these and others is only text weight design paper.  Everything was attached using a glue stick.  When the pages bend I hear popping and snapping of the old dried glue.  No matter.  These layout pages will be tucked in album sleeves and their contents will be safely stored.

I journaled next to each photo.  and added some rubber stamp images at the bottom.  I filled the images in with Twinkling H2O’s water color paint.

Left of the 2-page layout

Left of the 2-page layout

I used Versa Mark with black embossing powder on that monster of a Letter Press Plate from Stampin’ Up!.  Cut the word “Love” out a few times and attached it to the layout.

Right side of 2-page layout

Right side of 2-page layout

One of the old layouts down and a few more to go!

What are  your embarrassing secrets shoved into the dark holes of your craft space?  Do you have items lurking around from your beginning days of creating?  Take a look at them with your experienced eyes and see if you can make those old embarrassments into beautiful art pieces 😀

Leslie

Leave a Reply

