I have been obsessed!

Can you tell?

I've been making beaded charms

I’ve been making beaded charms

Over the past five days I have been diligently working in my craft room making these charms.  It has been ca-ray-zee!

The small amount I had started making, last week, was not going to be near enough for the 10 purse charms I will be making as Christmas gifts for the girls and women in my family.  So I made a trip to Wal-Mart and scored on packs of beads.  I then had to go back to Hobby Lobby – TWICE – for more head pins and jump rings.

While Joe was home…he has gone back to the truck driving job for a while….when I mentioned I needed to go to the store he would ask “Hobby Lobby?!”  Yes folks, I have been a bit obsessed of late.

I have some Alpha Beads in my stash.  These have been hanging around for several years.  I figured it was time to put them to use.  I’m putting names on each of the purse charms.  Before you think I’m such a wonderful and thoughtful person….it is mostly so that I REMEMBER which one goes to whom :/.  Also, so that I can quickly see who I have missed.

Alpha Beads - Keri

Alpha Beads – Keri

Alpha beads - Pati

Alpha beads – Pati

I have found that if I keep the letters on the same side of the chain they lay better.

Lays better if mounted on the same side

Lays better if mounted on the same side

Tomorrow I will be getting the purse charms made.  I think I will be posting the results daily instead of being gone for another week.

Are you thinking about Christmas presents yet?  Seems crazy to be thinking about that when Halloween isn’t even here :/

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 11:26:47

    Wonderful Leslie and won’t everyone be surprised to get a personalised Christmas gift? Will you be making small boxes for them or using some of those organdie gift bags? A beautiful collection though and while you are being absorbed into making these your body is healing without you worrying over what you and can’t do 🙂
    I have taken an afternoon off from packing and cleaning because I have to rest my leg; I badly grazed the calf haven’t a clue how I did it but I reacted badly to the surgical tape I put on to hold a pad in place so not only do I have a slightly infected graze but the skin around the wound is red, hot, swollen and burning like crazy from the reaction!! Not doing too well here at all but at least the pulled muscle is healing. So I have taken the time off ad spent some money on line buying felt and embroidery thread (floss) to make Advent calendars for the grandchildren and that is as far as thinking about Christmas has gone 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 02, 2014 @ 15:18:27

      Man, I’m so sorry to hear that you have hurt yourself. I hope your infection clears with no trouble. Sounds as though a little rest is needed. All that packing and cleaning you have been doing.

      I do hope you will post your Advent calendars on your blog when you have them finished. I’ve never made one and can’t seem to get very excited about them. Then again, I don’t have any little ones around either. Maybe for my grandchildren 😀

      As for boxing the purse charms, I will be making a trip to a local box store. They sell the white jewelry boxes with the cotton batting inside. I think I’ll go the easy route this time.

      Hope you get well my friend. You take care of yourself now.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

