Power outage at Hobby Lobby.

It has been quite a while since I set foot in a craft store.  Mostly because I am determined to use the stuff I already have and not purchase more.

Joe and I went to Hobby Lobby, near our home, last night.  I was getting low on jewelry head pins and jump rings.  I found the needed items and we went to the check out area.  While we were waiting in line for our turn the lights went out.

Lights out at Hobby Lobby

Lights out at Hobby Lobby

No one knew when the power was going to come back on so we left and headed for Michaels.  A new store was built closer to where we live.  It is a bit disappointing.  There is only about half the products in the new store as what was in their older store.  I was not able to purchase the head pins.  All that was available were eye pins.  I bought some anyway.

I have been making some coordinating charms to go with the fancy glass bead charms.

Blue glass with bead strings

Blue glass with bead strings

This set turned out really beautiful, if I do say so myself.  I really like the orange and blue.

Orange and blue

Orange and blue

These swirls on the blue glass beads are beautiful.

Blue swirls

Blue swirls

I have some bead sets that I had purchased a long time ago and have kicked myself black and blue for buying them.  Now I am really glad that I did.

Multi colored glass beads

Multi colored glass beads

Bead assortment

Bead assortment

I have an assortment of charms in an old pickle jar.  It is getting more full by the day.  I think I will have a Purse Charm that I can show you in a couple days.

Charms I've made so far

Charms I’ve made so far

I hope that I may have inspired you to take a stab at some beading.

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Sep 25, 2014 @ 12:51:20

    Oh such beautiful beads Leslie, love those blue swirly ones! The array of beads and super colours just draw me to any jewellery stand 🙂 I think I collect anything with lots of colours – inks, pencils, markers, paints, beads, swatches of fabric. I must have been a magpie in a former life 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 26, 2014 @ 07:05:17

      You’re funny 😀 A magpie. They do fly off with shiny things, don’t they 😀 Well, I have to say that I am afflicted with the same problem. I hope your packing and sorting is going well. I think of Rod, from your post a long while back, about the sorting out of the shed with all the tools and rusty old items. Sure hope the both of you don’t harm yourselves…much.
      Love – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

