Inspiration found during absolute boredom.

I have days that I can’t do anything.  ANYTHING!  Let me explain it this way…..

For those of us that are over the age of….say 45.  We feel like we are still in our 20’s.  We don’t feel the changes of “Middle Age”.  We have a few grey hairs and a few more wrinkles.  Our spirits though, inside of us, think we are still 20.  I can tell you that I have felt this way for a long long time and I have just reached the age of 60.

Okay.  So we feel young and still full of piss and vinegar.  We can still do everything we used to do.  That is until we get with one or more of the actual “20 somethings” and walk with them.  They are faster than us and we have to double step it to keep up with them.  Okay, okay.  So I have to double step it to keep up with my kids.

This illness confounds me.  I wake up in the morning and feel fantastic.  I feel like I did before I got sick.  I feel like I can get back to work.  One load of laundry in the washing machine, a few minutes sweeping the kitchen floor, and several more minutes emptying the dishwasher and I’m done for.  The remainder of the day is spent in a stupor, like I am in desperate need of a nap.  Push it a little further and I get a headache that won’t go away.

Let me tell you this.  I get extremely BORED!

I can get a couple hours of my paperwork done a day before the tiredness sets in.

So…I have taken to watching YouTube videos.  Makeup videos.  Some are very good.  Some are totally wild and out there.  Hair style videos.  Have you watched any of the hair style videos?  Although they are pretty good the presenters are very young.  The ages of my granddaughters.  Now that is a good thing, girls helping other girls I think is quite awesome.  My problem is the hair styles are for the young and not for me.  I’m too old to hold my arms in the air for long periods of time with my curling iron.  Besides, I think that thing hates me :/

I went through a period of time that I had totally lost interest in all things crafty.  That is part of the reason why it took me nearly a month to make the book I made for my grandson Simon.

During one of my video watching spells I came across BSUEBOUTIQUES on YouTube.  This woman has a great sense of humor.  She has someone running the camera during her video tutorials and she mentions his name from time to time as she instructs him where to focus the camera.  Her vast knowledge of antique jewelry is way over my head but she would be a good source for anyone that wants to learn about vintage jewelry.  I watched her video on making a necklace she calls “THE KITCHEN SINK”.

 

And I found KELLIE MURTON featuring her “PURSE CHARM FOR MY FRIEND CARRIE”.

 

I don’t know if you remember this or not.  I have a drawer in my craft room that is full of beads and stuff.

Bead drawer

Bead drawer

I have some glass beads I purchased from Tuesday Mornings….circa 2010.

Glass beads

Glass beads

I can do things for long periods of time that only require minimal exertion.  Don’t look too closely at my looping skills on these charms I’ve made.  The first ones I made are a bit “gappy” in their spacing.  Learning a new skill has its own process.  Oh, and don’t remind me of my messy table.  I will be cleaning that off in the coming days.

Okay, here you go.  This is what I have made so far.

Pink glass

Pink glass

Pink crystals

Pink crystals

Pink texture

Pink texture

Large white

Large white

Large blue floral

Large blue floral

Blue dice, glass

Blue dice, glass

Blue glass

Blue glass

Blue textured, glass

Blue textured, glass

Red glass

Red glass

Brown glass

Brown glass

Amber cylinder, glass

Amber cylinder, glass

I have NO IDEA what the sizes of the beads are.  All I can tell you is that I’ve used 2 inch head pins to connect all the beads on a charm.  None of the beads I own have any kind of label on them that states the size or even what it is called.  Some of the beads have come from necklaces I purchased at a truck stop because I liked the colors.

I won’t be making any necklaces.  I am going to try to make some of the purse dangle things for my daughters and granddaughters for their Christmas gifts.

If you are interested in making jewelry there are tons, and I mean TONS, of videos on YouTube featuring all forms of jewelry making.

Look.  If I can put some beads together on a pin and make a loop then YOU CAN also.  Hope this has inspired you to start thinking about your Christmas gifts to friends and family.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 09:06:41

    Your creations are beautiful !!!Awesome Awesome Awesome !!!
    I too have lots of beads and head pins ect. what a good idea for Christmas gifts. At the auction this past Friday I got Three pair of jewelry pliers all for $1.00 Score a good for me 🙂 I have found myself kinda in between my crafty want to do list. There is the painting stuff I got for Christmas and Mother’s day… the jewelry bits and pieces I’ve been collecting…card making with the mounds of stuff for that….then there’s the junque journal and mixed media journal that I’ve started. I just can’t seem to set down and focus on any of it. I am cross with myself that I can’t seem to get motivated to do any of it !! 😦 So I have planned to go back and do the work for short amounts of time like Jann suggested with her creative play. Just have a way to keep projects handy and easy to stow away ( little people like to help 🙂 ) when my time is up. Oh yes before I forget to tell you the book you did for Simon is fantastic. What a special gift to have his own book all about him this shall be gift that holds so many wonderful memories not only of Uncle Chad and his time together but also the love of a special Grandmother who lovingly crafted this masterpiece. I am sorry to hear you are still struggling so but happy that you are able to get some crafty time for yourself. I would count youtube as some craft time you know like online classes 🙂 to hone your skills. when I was so depressed I watched so many youtube videos it was madness. I watched survival videos, tiny house building, jewelry making, painting, cooking, video making, you name it I think I watched it lol. Well I must run for now Thank you for sharing you artwork.
    Love and hugs to you
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 24, 2014 @ 16:41:13

      Shelly, I’m sorry that you went through your depression all by yourself :/ That YouTube is one amazing place. There is unique stuff and some seriously gross stuff, too.

      Thank you for your kind comments on my book for Simon and my new attempt at beading…or charm making. I appreciate you.

      Since you have so many projects you want to work on, and so varied, how about doing one kind each week. Maybe your art journal stuff when the kids are home since they have their own journals they like to work in. Another week to make your cards while the kids are in school. Another week for the messy mixed media stuff, again while the kids are in school. Take the pressure off yourself in having to tackle them all at one time. Maybe you will get more accomplished, and getting some crafty mojo happening, if you give yourself permission to do Jann’s suggestion and have some Creative Play. Just a thought.

      What a score! Jewelry pliers for a dollar! That is totally AWESOME!

      Thanks my friend – Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 24, 2014 @ 11:45:33

    Fabulous pins Leslie. It took me lots of practise to get that looping to look fairly good 🙂 They are great to attach to chain for making bracelets.
    On the subject of age our daughters have me running alongside to keep up with them! One day one of the girls said to her son okay we need to go to the supermarket (for a few bits it is a few minutes walk away), so he piped up “are we driving or running Mummy?”
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 24, 2014 @ 16:47:48

      I can so empathize with you and your grandson. Breaking a sweat and panting from the marathon run just trying to keep up with a daughter on her walk to the grocers. Oh well…at least we can still walk 😀 That is a bonus any day.

      Thank you for your kind words on my charm making. Yes, I find that my loops get better as I continue to work on them. Not even close to professional but at least they are not misshapen very much.

      I hope your ribs and chest muscles are healing better each day. I’m so happy for you and Rod. Finally on your way to warmer climate and the seaside. Woo Hoo!!!

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Sep 25, 2014 @ 08:22:45

    I’ve collected quite a few beads and things over the years, but I can’t remember what I meant to do with them! I see these great videos, and go out and buy the product and then forget what the hell they’re for…..AAARRGGGH! I know that some of them are for bookmarks, and the bead decorations are for the top and bottom, but the most recent purchase involved lengths of chain that I bought in silver, gold and black along with beads. But I can’t remember what the chain is for! I know it wasn’t for bracelets or necklaces; that would be too BORING and EXPECTED! I guess I could use the chain instead of the thin ribbon that was to be used for bookmarks. I SWEAR the next time I buy supplies for a project like this, I’m gonna print out a picture of WHAT THE HELL IT’S FOR!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 25, 2014 @ 08:52:56

      Oh my goodness, Maureen, you crack me up! 😀 I can so relate to this comment. Once the idea goes cold it totally disappears under the ice :/

      I have one of the purse charms finished and will be posting today. I hope you get inspired to use the chain for your bookmarks and any other thing you can think of. I have to say, your crafting is NEVER BORING.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

