Personalize a book for a child.

I finally have something to share.  A personalized children’s book for my grandson who will be five this November.

It has taken me most of the month to create this.  Energy levels and mood swings have run amok as I’m recovering from a Sepsis illness.  I won’t bore you with the tawdry details.

A big shout out to Shelly Makowski for checking in on me via text messages during my long absence.  Thank you Shelly.

A DISCLAIMER:  I don’t consider myself to be a prize winning children’s book author.

The concept for this book came about because of a long ago memory.  About 30 plus years ago a publishing company had a Christmas promotion.  Parents could write in and submit the name of each of their children to the publisher.  For a fee, the child’s name would be placed throughout the Christmas story and the personalized book would be mailed to the child just in time for Santa’s visit.

This book is about Simon and the day he climbed a tree.

The book of Simon

The book of Simon

IMG_8206

IMG_8207

IMG_8208

IMG_8209

IMG_8210

IMG_8211

IMG_8212

IMG_8213

IMG_8214

IMG_8215

IMG_8217

IMG_8218

IMG_8219

The papers I have used are all from my stash.  The majority of them are really very old….circa 2005.  Of course, I had to use my Graphic 45 ABC Primer paper from my stash for this book.

Everything has been glued to chipboard.  This is a book, not a mini album, and I felt it would be required of me to securely attach all of the story components.  That way a little boy, or his Mom or Dad, won’t have to worry about things getting lost or put in the wrong spot.  I think it might even be safe to say this book may even survive the toss test.  Maybe even the buried under toys and blankets test.

In the coming week I will be back with more creations.  My business paperwork is nearly done.  Once that is completed I can dedicate more time in my craft room and start making things for my family for Christmas.  With the way this crazy illness saps my strength I figure I will need the extra time.

I hope I have inspired you to create something fun and whimsical.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 20:46:38

    Oh my gosh, this is fantastic! This book will be on display at his high school and college graduation parties, and at his rehearsal dinner! I can’t wait to see the next book!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:43:25

      LOL! I wonder if my daughter would be up for that. YES, I do believe she would be up for that. She loves to pull devious pranks. 😀 Thank you my friend for your kind words. I saw on your Facebook page your Mom has been released from the hospital. I certainly hope she is doing well with her rehabilitation. Poor thing. I’ll keep you both in my prayers.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 15:37:56

    A fabulous book Leslie. I remember those Christmas promotions and they are still advertised from time to time. This is far better because it is about something that has happened. A beautiful keepsake too 🙂
    Are you improving Leslie? I’ve missed you! At the moment we are busy packing, cleaning and clearing out, hope we will be ready to move by the 24th October 🙂 Only problem has been that I tore a chest muscle whilst dismantling a very old but extremely well made wardrobe! Excruciatingly painful for a week but it is now slowly mending and I can do more and more each day. Don’t you just hate getting old!!!??
    Love and (gentle) hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:46:36

      Thank you Lynn for your very kind words on the book I made. I appreciate you my friend.

      As far as improvement goes….it is coming along. Too flipping slow for me but I am showing improvement.

      Oooohhhhhh! Does this mean your house finally SOLD?! YIPPY SKIPPY! I’m sorry to learn you have damaged yourself in the process of packing and moving. I wish you and Rod well in the upheaval of your life.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Sep 24, 2014 @ 11:41:12

        Yes SOLD at last!!!!!!!!!!!! You can’t believe how happy we are and lovely people who have bought too. We will be in Cornwall for Christmas 😀
        Hugs xxxx

      • Message In A Fold
        Sep 24, 2014 @ 16:43:04

        I’m thrilled for you both! I’d do the “Happy Dance” but you might think there is an earthquake so I won’t cause you any unease. I’m so happy for you. Your wish is finally coming true….Cornwall for Christmas. How exciting.

        Love – Leslie

Leave a Reply

