Epic FAIL! Glitter is my nemisis.

I don’t remember if I’ve shown you the circles Sizzix die I have.  If I have….you’ll get to see it again 😀  I’m sure this is another discontinued die since I purchased it off eBay in 2006.

Sizzix circles die

Sizzix circles die

I cut two chipboard circles, the large and the extra large, intended for a different idea that I had.  I also cut out paper from my scraps.

Chipboard and paper die cuts

Chipboard and paper die cuts

My original plan didn’t work out.  I cut a vellum quote pretty badly.  I mangled that poor thing.  So…I opted to use the flower sticker instead.

Uhm….this is a case of “Less is More”.  I liked the way the floral sticker looked on the covered chipboard.  I was going to leave it just like this.

A pretty flower

A pretty flower

Then I came up with the not so brilliant idea of using Studio G Glitter Glue and Tim Holtz Perfect Pearls.

Glitter glue

Glitter glue

FAIL!  EPIC FAIL!

Fail

Fail

EPIC FAIL

EPIC FAIL

I salved my poor spirits by looking at my bottle cap “epoxy” embellishment.

 

I like the way this turned out.

I like the way this turned out.

One note I need to pass on to you.  Tap out the the dents made from the bottle opener.

Tap out the dents

Tap out the dents

The dents have caused a “halo” effect in the Glossy Accents once it has dried.  Your “epoxy” piece will have “character” 😀

A  halo effect

A halo effect

Back to the sticker sheet.  The set that I botched up that beautiful flower.  I have two stickers that look like flowers or tin tile piece.

Trying the sticker thing again

Trying the sticker thing again

NO GLITTER!  STEP AWAY FROM THE GLITTER!

Rhinestone bling

Rhinestone bling

I’m working on an octagonal die from Sizzix.  I’ve cut the chipboard piece from it already.

Octagonal Sizzix die

Octagonal Sizzix die

Look what I found in a drawer!  I had been looking for something that looked like a kiss or puckered lips and couldn’t find it.  Here it is 😀

That's where that was!

That’s where that was!

As usual.  Find the thing when I don’t need it any longer :/  I think my vellum quotes no longer deal with kissing.  (big groan)

I know that hand punches don’t like chipboard.  I’m not sure if the Cricut would like chipboard better.  I have a machine but I don’t use it so I can’t confirm or deny this fact.  Maybe someone out there will know the answer to that.

Have I given you some ideas on making your own chipboard embellishments from your sticker stash?  If I have…and you have given this a try then leave a link to your creations in a comment below.

That’s all I have for you today.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tinakuhlman
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 04:12:02

    i’m a cricut nut…depends on how thick the chipboard is. see wasn’t i a whole lot of help…it will cut thinner chipboard with a couple passes and a deep cut blade. it’s great to see you crafting again. hugs tina

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:24:25

      Tina, please forgive me my very tardy response to your comment :/ Thanks for letting me know that the Cricut will cut through light weight chipboard. What kind of Cricut do you have and use? I have the original 6″ one. I don’t use it much since I only have two cartridges for it. I think I will have to get that thing out one of these days and try to do something with it.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 12:11:17

    Did you use your die cutter to flatten out the beer cap? So much easier than a hammer and new caps are even better than ones removed with an opener D) I quite often make my own embellishments especially with stamped images on shrink plastic but these days I rarely use glitter:) Now I do have loads of glitter and would love to give that to the grandchildren but for some unknown reason their mums say “No!” LOL.
    hugs and love
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:39:52

      I never thought of using my old Sizzix to flatten out the beer cap! That old heavy monster would do the trick. Right now strength is something that has left me and I get so irritated.

      Well, my goodness. How narrow minded your grandchildren’s Mums are. Not having glitter in their home 😀

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

