Vellum quotes and beer?

Yes, indeed.  Vellum quotes and beer.  Well….a beer bottle cap.

Digging through my stash of Sizzix dies I remembered I had a tag die.  Another discontinued one, sorry.  This is a “Traditional Tag” die that has three sizes.  I chose to use the largest of the three.

Sizzix Traditional Tags

Sizzix Traditional Tags

I located another sticker sheet that has been partially used.  Once again, circa 2005.  These are by Ever After Scrapbook Company.  Doing a Google search for the company that created these stickers produces a scrapbook store in Vista, California.  There is only a Facebook page for the Vista, CA store.  So I can’t tell you anything about these stickers.

Ever After Scrapbook Company

Ever After Scrapbook Company

I cut two chipboard tags from the Sizzix die.  I painted both of them with white acrylic paint, both front and back.  One tag features a tag sticker from the above set and one of the vellum quotes I’ve been trying to use up.  See my post from yesterday to see the vellum quotes.

I used a bit of rhinestone ribbon stuff I got from Michaels last year.  I thought it was just enough bling to not obscure the message on the tag.

A small bit of bling

A small bit of bling

“Where does the beer come in?” you may be asking.  Well….here is where it comes in.  Last year I asked Joe to give me his bottle caps.  He looked at me as though I had turned purple with lime green polka dots and sprouted a tail.  Then a look came across his face that I interpreted as “(eye roll) Whatever floats your boat”.  I tried to explain to him what I was going to do with them.  I think he heard “blah blah yadda yadda buzz buzz” because he shook his head and placed the cap in the palm of my hand and promptly walked off.

Bottle cap

Bottle cap

If you have not flattened a bottle cap before…there is a bit of trial and error involved.  The trick is to use a hammer in small sections of the ribbed edge.  Turn the cap upside down with the ribbed part standing up.  Flatten a little section at a time.  I’ve totally whacked the cap via some vigorous pounding.  All I succeeded in doing was rendering the bottle cap totally USELESS!  Finesse is not one of my qualities.  It is like patience.  Hard to come by.

Okay.  Once you have the bottle cap flattened properly paint the ribbed edge.  You can use acrylic paints if you wish to.  I used a very old Gold Pen that I’ve had since BEFORE 2005!  Surprised it still works.

Gold leaf pen

Gold leaf pen

The quote I’m using on this tag features the word “Kiss”.  An unsuccessful hunt (okay, not a very in depth hunt) through my stash of stickers looking for the image of puckered up lips.  Then I remembered I have an 8 x 8 pad of Graphic 45 papers that might have a couple embraced in a kiss.

Graphic 45 paper

Graphic 45 paper

I found a sheet that is filled with a couple locking lips.  The images are fairly small.  My 1″ hole punch was used to extract one image of the couple.

Graphic 45 and 1" hole punch

Graphic 45 and 1″ hole punch

The punched image fits nicely inside the flattened and painted bottle cap.

Image in bottle cap

Image in bottle cap

I am going to make this into an “Epoxy” like embellishment.  I’ll be using Glossy Accents to, first attach the image to the bottle cap, and then to totally cover the image inside the rim of the cap.

Glossy Accents

Glossy Accents

After applying the Glossy Accents you will see the image is milky.  Once the glue fully dries it will be clear, smooth, and SHINY 😀

Milky  until it dries

Milky until it dries

This is how I’m planning on creating this tag.  I think I need a flower or something to hide the glue oops coming out from under the Tim Holtz Adage Ticket.

Unfinished tag

Unfinished tag

Now, the next question I have to ask myself is this.  What am I going to do with these tags?!  I may be trading a load of stickers for a ton of tags and embellishments.  The good part of this is that I’m getting back into being creative and experimenting.  BONUS!

If you are a stamper and make cards….would you consider creating something similar to be attached to a card front when you are in a hurry to put something together?  Or save some for the time when your mojo takes a hike for a while?

Time to go through my discontinued Sizzix dies to see what I can come up with next 😀

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 12:04:49

    Well my mojo has gone on holiday and failed to take me with it!!!!! These tags could be used in a journal though Leslie. So glad you are doing some crafting. I have tons of stickers/peel offs and gave them to our grandchildren who think they are great fun 🙂 I have to admit to throwing loads away because I am never going to use them again.
    Hope the antibiotics are helping you and not causing any secondary effects.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:27:09

      Lynn, please forgive me the tardiness of my response to your comment :/ I saw your recent posting of the Quotes and Lyrics challenge you do and I must say your Mojo has found its way back home 😀 Thanks for asking after me. The antibiotics have done very well for the infection part. Don’t know what can be done with the rest of it….time I guess.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Bonnie
    Jun 08, 2016 @ 19:20:03

    I’m confused if you used the original sizzex machine to flatten the bottlecap. If so, how did you do it?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 30, 2016 @ 08:22:37

      Sorry for any confusion you have had on my post about bottle caps in your craft projects. No, I did not use my Sizzix machine to flatten the bottle cap. I used a hammer, quite liberally and vigorously, with mixed results. I had read, or been told by someone, the Original Sizzix and the System Converter can be used to flatten bottle caps. I can not attest to this….I did not try it out to see if it would work. Thank you for reading my blog post and leaving a comment.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

