Scrap chipboard, paper scraps, and old Sizzix dies. Oh My!

I’m working on my craft room for about 15 to 20 minutes each day.  Being sick is just not for me!  It will be a month tomorrow.  Crapazoid!  Three days is long enough but 31 days is ridiculous!  Tuesday of this past week I went to our family physician because I was getting fed up with being sick and wimpy.  The upshot is, according to my doctor, the Sepsis infection is still not out of my body.  He prescribed more antibiotics for me since I was only given a seven day prescription from the hospital when I got discharged.  So now it will be two more weeks of further medicine.

Hey, I’m okay with that as long as this sick and wimpy stuff goes away.  SOONEST!

I’ve managed to get my work table cleared….well a small section of it anyway.  I did get all the stuff I took with me to Arizona put away.  Took a week but it is all put back.

Getting cleared up

Getting cleared up

Do you have a stash of something in your craft space that makes your guts get tied up in knots?  You look at it and have a knee jerk reaction like “I’m going to just chuck all of this crap!”  I have this mess of stickers.  What the heck was I thinking?  Why did I even buy this stuff?!  Most, if not all of it, is well over SIX YEARS OLD!

Box of stickers.

Box of stickers.

Another stash I have that makes me cringe is all of the chipboard scraps I have from other past projects.  It is ALMOST like having an avalanche of crap stuff when I open the door.

Scraps of chipboard

Scraps of chipboard

Now I’m not going to say…..”Old is the new _____ (you fill in the blank)”.  But I’m going to say just because something (or someone) is old doesn’t mean there is no further life in them.

Case in point:  My Sizzix dies that have long been discontinued.

Heart Border die from Sizzix.

Sizzix Heart Border die

Sizzix Heart Border die

Diamond #1 die from Sizzix.

Sizzix Diamond #1

Sizzix Diamond #1

Diamond #1

Diamond #1

Diamond #2 die from Sizzix.

Sizzix Diamond #2

Sizzix Diamond #2

Hearts die from Sizzix.

Hearts die from Sizzix

Hearts die from Sizzix

Frames, Stamp Combo from Sizzix.

Frames, Stamp Combo from Sizzix

Frames, Stamp Combo from Sizzix

A couple of Stampin’ Up!’s discontinued stamp sets.  I DON’T KNOW IF THESE ARE ACTUALLY DISCONTINUED.  I’ve had these for a number of years.

I {Heart} Hearts.

I {Heart} Hearts - Stampin' Up!

I {Heart} Hearts – Stampin’ Up!

Tiny Tags.

Tiny Tags - Stampin' Up!

Tiny Tags – Stampin’ Up!

Vellum quotes that I purchased in 2005 for one of our daughter’s wedding.  I think they are from Deja View.

Vellum quotes by Deja View

Vellum quotes by Deja View

Clear stickers from NRN Designs.  Also circa 2005 for the same wedding.

NRN Designs clear stickers

NRN Designs clear stickers

Acrylic “Jewels” purchased from Hobby Lobby circa 2006.

Acrylic "Jewels"

Acrylic “Jewels”

The “Newby” is from Bead Landing.  An assortment of different sizes of rhinestones.  This set was purchased last year.

Bead Landing rhinestones

Bead Landing rhinestones

Silk flower bouquet, circa 2005, I think I bought them from Michaels.

Silk flower bouquet

Silk flower bouquet

While I have been “convalescing” I’ve spent some time watching YouTube videos.  One of them I watched…..I don’t remember who offered this fabulous tip…..made me rethink my pitiful small stash of fabric flowers.  The fabulous tipster showed how to take the flowers off the stems and stash them for use on other things.  I tried that and it works.  I also changed up the color a little bit by applying a little bit of acrylic paint on the flowers.

Acrylic paint on fabric flowers

Acrylic paint on fabric flowers

The final item is my mounting stash of chipboard off cuts left over from previous projects.  I found the video!  Here it is.

Chipboard off cuts

Chipboard off cuts

So…..here are the results of playing with my old stuff.  Bet you are bored and about to go somewhere else by now. 😀  Now don’t judge me by my lack of finesse with the glue gun.  I can’t always see the stringy bits until I see them in photos. :/

Love that is true never grows old

Love that is true never grows old

Always kiss me goodnight

Always kiss me goodnight

Here in my heart, I give you the best of my love

Here in my heart, I give you the best of my love

Okay, now other people can crank out a gazillion of these in no time flat.  These three have taken me all week to do.  I’m getting back into my craft room and, virtually, starting all over again.

If there is anyone interested in having some, or any, of these die cuts on chipboard to create things from you own stash let me know.  All of the dies I have used were discontinued a long time ago.  You might be able to find them on eBay but you won’t find them at Sizzix.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tinakuhlman
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 13:11:40

    glad to see you getting back in the craft room…but don’t over do it. it’s going to take a while for you to feel better what you had is a very scary thing. take care good friend ..

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:25:41

      Thank you, Tina, for your concern for me. I appreciate you my friend. I think of you, often, and the daily pain you deal with but keep powering through your day. This does not compare to what you go through. I have no other choice but to take it easy or I end up paying for it.

      How taxing on my body is just sitting in my craft room and playing? 😀 Uhm…when I get too excited by the dies I have and crank them through my Big Shot. I’m a wimp :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 20:53:44

    Yay!! Leslie I’m happy you’re back getting your craft on if even in little spurts of time. Love you pretty projects and quotes or sayings Fantastic !! Now I have way too many piles of stuffs to mention since I am a terrible pack rat 🙂 Stickers ?? well way too many and I don’t use them because they are out of sight in a couple boxes in the crafty closet. I honestly have more than I could use in years but cant seem to pass of a great deal when I see one so throwing caution to the wind I buy it….. I need a crafty goodies support group 🙂 lol I am sorry to hear you need more antibiotics but happy that your Doctor gave you more to fight this nasty bug off with time and rest.
    Thanks for sharing your pretties they turned out Beautiful.
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:40:16

      Thank you, Shelly, for your very kind words of praise. I appreciate you.

      Stickers! They seem like such a great idea when I see them in the stores. Not such a great idea when I get them home. I think you can positively affirm that, especially since you have BINS full of them.

      Thank you for stopping by and being my friend. I must admit I have not been much of a friend for you :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 13:07:12

    Oh yes you have. There have been so many times your posts have cheered me up and your honest words have given me a fresh look at my situation. I have traveled across the U.S. without ever leaving my home on some terrific adventures with you. I have learned much new information on crafts , over the road trucking ,dining establishments, and many other things. I’ve made new friends here and abroad and been encouraged through many tough seasons of my life so I feel that is true friendship. Take heart this illness has taken a big toll on you and it will take awhile to bounce back but I am confident you will show it who’s the boss. Remember that I love you.

    {{{{{{{Big hugs}}}}}}}
    Shelly
    .

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 04, 2014 @ 13:32:17

      Shelly, I am truly humbled by your words. I have felt like such a selfish person because I blab on and on about my truck driving job and my life. The most I have done for the friends I have from the internet is offer up prayers for each of you hoping that something in your lives will be brightened. I had no idea that my ramblings have been of help to you. Thank you for letting me know that I have touched you and given you my friendship. Now, I’m going to go blow my nose after these tears of blessing.

      Love you my sweet friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

