Get your Stripe On!

IMG_9418

I have been saving glass food jars for quite a while now.  Joe had requested them to be saved for his screws, nuts, bolts, and myriad other small things.  Uhm….they sit on a shelf in our hallway unused.  So….”Fair Game” you think?

There are several of these jars with a clear plastic label that is really HARD to get off.  Soaking in hot water doesn’t budge the label.

Clear label

Clear label

I tried using my brand new Tim Holtz heat tool.  All it managed to do was loosen the plastic label from the powerful glue.  Oh well, soak a paper towel in alcohol and let it sit for several minutes.  That should bust that glue loose.

IMG_9397 IMG_9398 IMG_9399

Uh-h-h-h.  Nope.  Alcohol didn’t cut it.  I had to bring out the “Big Guns” for sticky removal.

IMG_9400

This stuff cuts through the toughest stuff, and glue on this jar was pretty stinking tough.  With a paper towel, and a good sized squirt of the Goof Off,  I wiped the glue right off.  There were some areas that required a bit of scrubbing but it all came off.  There is a residue left behind from this stuff.  I cleaned the jar with another paper towel and a good sized dollop of alcohol which cut right through the Goof Off stuff.

IMG_9401

With some masking tape or painters tape, begin making your stripe pattern.  If you want narrow stripes lay the tape out on a cutting mat.  Using a metal ruler and an exacto knife cut the strips to the width you want to use.  I tried putting the tape around the neck of the jar and had nothing but a wonky line.  I had to go to my “Resident Guru” for his mechanical and strategic abilities.

IMG_9402 IMG_9403

After he got the tape “Just Perfect” (according to him) then I used several colors of the Adirondak Alcohol Ink from Ranger Industries and Tim Holtz.  Click on the image to enlarge it if you want to see the spacing and the mess.

IMG_9404

I left this to dry for 24 hours.  Mostly because I had run out of steam and energy.  Grrr!  I hate this being such a wimp!

The next day I took all the painters tape off and assessed my handiwork.  I didn’t like the one yellow stripe that was barely noticeable.

IMG_9407

If you don’t have a roll of this stuff already in your craft space….I think it is well worth your while to head to your hardware store or big box home improvement store.  This metal tape is really and truly very thin sheet metal with a glue backing.  This stuff is used by the heating and air conditioning people when they install furnace and a/c ducts in your home.

This tape is called “Shurtape Hold Strong”.  I’ve used this on many projects.  AND you can run this stuff through an embossing folder and your die cutting machine.  Totally awesome stuff!

IMG_9408

I cut the tape to the width I wanted using a paper trimmer.  Yes, you can use this stuff with your paper trimmer.  Leave the paper backing on before you cut it.  Or….you know what will happen.  It will stick and you will be saying a few words you would not wish to have repeated by the little ones in your home :/

Mark the tape at the desired length you want to span your jar.  Then Joe wanted a “Perfect” cut line so I brought him my little paper trimmer for him to use.  He’s so fantastic!  I just love this guy.

IMG_9410 IMG_9411

Once the metal strip has been applied to your glass jar, precisely or almost precisely :D, you will need to use a bone folder to smooth out the wrinkles in the metal tape.  This will also make the tape stick fully to the jar and not come loose later on.

I would suggest you spray your newly created beauty with a sealer.  I use a Krylon “Triple Thick Crystal Clear Glaze” that is good for craft projects.  Give your jar a couple coats of this stuff.  Take it outside first.  Don’t spray in the sun or you will get “Orange Peel” texture.  Once sprayed, bring it in the house to finish drying for a glassy smooth finish.

IMG_9374

I’ve read that this stuff, the Krylon Clear Glaze, will even make your beautiful creation dishwasher safe.  Hand wash the first time though to make sure the metal tape doesn’t have a problem.

I have a few touch ups to do on mine before I spray it with the glaze.  So, do you think you might want to try something even more adventurous than stripes?  If you give this a try leave me a link in the comments section.  I may be totally inspired by you!

Leslie

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 08:31:38

    Love seeing Joe going for perfection 🙂 Crack out the paste now and pearl ex and try that one. As the moulding paste has to dry it will suit you having to work i short periods. There are hand made paste recipes that are as good as bought ones and this is one I use:The recipe is for a small portion, 1 rounded dsp (dessertspoon) of gesso or white paint, 1 rounded dsp of cheap white glue and 2 rounded tbs of talc powder. Mix gesso and glue, add talc slowly until you get the consistency you require, if it is too thick, just add a small amount of equal quantities of paint and glue to the mix. Just multiply up for larger quantity.
    Other colours of paint can be used but I prefer white although tend to use gesso and then paint the project afterwards. The recipe can be stored in a jar and will keep for a very long time.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 31, 2014 @ 14:12:20

      Thanks, Lynn, for the recipe of the moulding paste. I’ll have to give that a try. I’ll have to go to the craft store to buy the Gesso. I’ve been putting off going to any of the craft stores since I’ve been ill. Can’t stand for long periods of time before I get all woozy and need support.

      I really appreciate you sharing your experience with me and your guidance. Thank you for that.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 20:36:05

    Hey there 🙂
    Really like your repurposed jars. You can color match them for your craft room to hold all your little treasures or maybe the bathroom for cotton swabs, cotton balls or maybe sewing goodies like safety pins or buttons. I am storing up ideas and saving them to a file on my desktop for my own craft room one of these days and this is a saver for sure. I have some aluminum duct tape in my stash I need to try it with the embossing folders makes me think of the old tin ceiling tiles that’s in the antique store Brian goes to. Gonna have to get my rump motivated to dive into my messy corner. I haven’t done anything but pile stuff on my desk to move other stuff out of the way Yikes I had better be getting busy. Happy to see a post from you.
    Much love and big hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:36:49

      If you decide to use alcohol inks on your jars….open a window. Maybe it is just me in my wimpy state but the alcohol fumes gave me a headache and I ended up getting dizzy and nauseous.

      Oh, and if you do the blowing through a straw on the jars with the alcohol ink…..once again, my wimpy state….you can get lightheaded 😀

      I’m sorry you have not had the pleasure of creating in your craft space. Especially after all the work you did in getting it set up. Life! Sometimes it is a total bummer :/ LOL.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

      • aspot2stamp
        Sep 03, 2014 @ 12:27:08

        Thanks for the heads up on the fumes things with strong smells are a trigger of my migraines so I appreciate the advise. All’s well in my crafty space I think I can get into a good schedule I can pull it off. We have had a busy summer with the kids and I have been too lazy and have added some junk to my stash 🙂 Brian has won me some great stuff at the auction he goes to on Friday nights and some garage sales I don’t have a proper place for it. Oh how I love that man of mine lol he indulges my crafty hoarding and puts up with the mess 🙂 We had a trip to Arkansas this weekend with Melissa’s family and it was a spur of the moment thing so alas I must get the trip stuff all in order and the stuff that got dug out that wasn’t taken. We had a good time and Melissa was able to share things in her life growing up with us and that meant a lot to her so it made us happy too. I hope the antibiotics are helping you to feel better and you are back to your spunky self soon.
        Take care and try to be patient 🙂 this too shall pass…….even if it is slowly
        Love and hugs
        Shelly

Leave a Reply

